Resting and more humanity lessons - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2022 to August 16, 2022

Resting and more humanity lessons

Over the last 5 days, we have been resting and letting bodies recover. We rode from Cotocachi to Otavalo which is a short 6-8 mile ride. I was fortune to get lost and then guided by a local on a bike.

He led me to the municipal produce market where I bought tonnes and tonnes of frutas ( granadillas, pepinos y papayas). The young mom from whom I bought pepinos and granadillas also added a few Mandarinos into my cloth shopping bag. I went to give her extra but she wouldn't take it and said it's a gift!

Heart 4 Comment 0

After practicing my Spanish with other vendors I headed to find a hospejade. Along the way I started talking to a street hawker, Alison who's selling guantes. I asked the price ($2) and said I would return after checking into a hotel. Then I offered her some of the fruits. The fruits probably cost 30-50 cents. In return she gifted me with a pair of guantes. I tried to pay her but she wouldn't accept it. Again, she's a street hawker who didn't even have a proper tienda..

Over the days in Otavalo, I took the autobus to Laguna Cotocachi and did some local hikes. But again, I ran into a lot of kind hearts who showered me with more love.

Hiking around Laguna Cotocachi
Heart 2 Comment 0
Palo who made me a bracelet con basura but wouldn't charge for his labor..
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hernan y Luci de
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 1,045 miles (1,682 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0