Out of the starting gate - Northeast Minnesota 2023 - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2023

Out of the starting gate

Day 1: Maple Grove to Hutchinson

WAKING AT 6:00, I get myself organized, showered, and dressed then head down to the kitchen, where my cousin has already got coffee and breakfast waiting for me.  I need to leave by 7:30 and so does she, so we forego the traditional "Minnesota goodbye" (say goodbye then spend another 30 to 45 minutes in conversation, sometimes while standing in the open doorway or even seated in the running car).  We'll be back together for a longer spell at the end of the tour so there's no need to get everything said now.

At the hotel, the van's already open and people are milling about, bringing their luggage out and loading it into the van, getting their bikes and gear squared away, and attending to all the little last minute details that go with the kind of venture we're about to embark on.  Then it's time for the obligatory start-of-ride group photo, and we're off.

After much antiipation, we're all finally ready to roll. Let's ride!
Heart 5 Comment 0

We start on a short stretch of cycle path, which is perfect as it keeps the group together and riding at an easy, manageable pace.  Adrenaline's got me, though, and once we get off the trail and onto the road I find myself working my way through the group.  I really don't intend to, it just sort of happens.  We're riding under heavy overcast, there's a light breeze in our faces, and the temperature's only in the mid 50s.  I've got a long sleeve base layer on under my jersey so I'm not cold, but the slight extra effort helps warm me. 

Being point man, I decide it's my responsibility to pause at key turns and make sure everyone else goes the right direction.  It also gives me an opportunity to get a few "action shots" as folks pass by.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

There's not a lot of scenery that catches my eye but I do spot a few tableaus and roadside attractions that I deem to be photo-worthy.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Harvest is underway.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don't recall having seen many canary yellow barns before.
Heart 6 Comment 0
We're in Greg Garceau country, for sure.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauYup. (By the way, I see you've been getting messages from a Gretchen Carlson. Coincidentally, there was a Miss Minnesota by that name. She went on to become Miss America.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Gregory GarceauThe Gretchen Carlson in this case is my cousin, so in her youth it was Adams rather than Carlson.

She could have been a contender for the crown, though.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
From a distance I thought that spire had been painted bright blue as some sort of decoration. Up close I realize it's wrapped in blue tarp and under repair.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

We've got a rest stop 19 miles out.  Everyone's there, nobody's having difficulties, life is good.  After the rest stop there's a 10 mile stretch into Howard Lake.  Once again, without really intending to I open up a lead big enough that I can't see anyone from the group behind me.  Arriving in Howard Lake, it's about 11:30 so I decide to stop for lunch.  There's a group text string already established for communication among the group so I check in to let everyone know that I'm slightly off-route and stopped for lunch.

Over the next few minutes several others also check in, announcing their intended lunch stops elsewhere or simply providing status updates so our SAG / van driver can keep tabs on all of us.

After eating, I continue up the road and happen to catch a trio from the group just as they are remounting after their own lunch stop.  We ride together, eventually leaving the road and getting on the Luce Line State Recreational Trail, which will carry us the final miles into Hutchinson.  

The overcast finally burns off, and the temperature climbs to a pleasant, sun-warmed 65 degrees or so.  This pleases me particularly, because I've been ever so slightly chilly thanks to the dampness in my jersey under the cloudy sky and the mild breeze.  Before now, the temperature's been in the upper 50s: not cold, but not exactly warm, either.  It's the sort of temperature that encourages mild vigorcand discourages stopping or dawdling. Tomorrow I'll take a couple extra layers in my panniers, as a precaution against a repetition.

We stop briefly at the place eight or so miles from the end of the route, where most of the rest of the group chose to pause for their lunch.  This brings all but one of us together and we finish within a few minutes of one another.  The one missing has ridden ahead and is already at the hotel.

It's not long after 2:00 when I arrive.  I'm pleased to have time to upload photos, start the recharging process for my various electronic devices, and generally get settled in.  My roommate for the day arrives a few minutes later and we set about getting to know one another over a thimbleful each of the single malt scotch I've brought along for such purposes.  It needs to last, though, so I ration it carefully.

Following our late-afternoon rider's meeting most of us head for dinner.  I'm seated next to someone I've not yet spent much time with, though we did ride together and chat a bit near the end of the day.  We share thoughts about woodworking, tandems, touring experiences, and our professional lives.  

Then it's back to the hotel.  I've gotten behind on the journal-writing and need to get caught up, so the balance of the evening is dedicated to that task. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 60 miles (97 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0