Last Minute Rush Out - Laos is More: The Minimalism Tour - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2023

Last Minute Rush Out

It was the last day in Thailand, and yet there was still lots to do at the very end.  First was figuring out SIM card logistics.  A long while ago back in Laos I bought a phone in the middle of nowhere and put the two Chinese SIM cards in there for storage.  Then there was a Thai SIM in my current phone as well as a loose Canada SIM being carried the whole time.  It became quite a challenge to figure out what to do with all this going forward.  In the end I made a plan but that cost well over an hour. 

Next was some shopping at the Big C to replace the backpack that had fallen apart.  A shop was easily found and a killer deal on a nice backpack.  The lady running the shop was friendly and she asked how long my holiday was.  "Over a month" I said, "But today is the last day."  She said "Welcome to Thailand again.  This is the place where people smile."  

Indeed she was right.  I then went to the bank to try and have them set up e-payments to deduct the electricity bills from my condo.  The clerk basically said I could take the documents she prepared and go to the Pattaya electricity office.  I told her, "I can't do that because I fly out this afternoon."  Upon learning that she apologized and said there wasn't much she could do at this time.  It would have to be next trip.

So let me get this straight, it's a major challenge to pay the electricity bills.  And yet if I can't do that, they'll cut the power without hestitation.  The same can be said for maintaining and managing my bank accounts.  Get lax on that stuff for a second and they're closed.

Next was a final round of packing.  I called a taxi to come in half an hour but of course he showed up early which put more pressure on me.  What I first had to do was pack the large folding bike into the new bag I got at Probike.  That fit easily and it was a great decision to buy it.  Then all the other luggage was stored beside the bag.  Next to that one, I put the smaller Tern bike in the other bag.  Inside that smaller bag I also put in fenders, other bike parts, and anything else I couldn't bring on the airplane such as bottles, air freshener, and so forth.

Finally the taxi driver took the wrong bag in his car.  The guesthouse scolded him for that and said that the bike I was taking to the airport was the big one.  The small one was staying behind.  I thanked them for all their help, settled the bill, and he took off for the airport.

Once there it was the saddest part of a Thai bike trip:  leaving.

Heart 0 Comment 0

There was one final success, however.  I figured there had to be a cell phone kiosk for AIS (my phone plan) at the airport.  Indeed there was.  I asked them, "How do I keep my Thailand SIM for next trip?"  They told me to download an app, log in, then top up money periodically.  This could be done outside of Thailand provided I logged in right now with the phone number and confirmed with an SMS on the spot.  They showed me how to do all this, so I did that and topped up some money from my Thai bank account.  Right away that makes it valid until the end of December and can easily be extended. 

Then it was the usual crowded nightmare through security but thanks to my packing earlier, there were no problems.  Just hassle and stress with so many people and bags moving around everywhere.  

Then there was still time for food and coffee.  Finally, of course it wouldn't be Thailand if a ladyboy didn't try to hit on me.  That happened at the very last second at the coffee shop.  I told him or her that I had a wife and this person could get lost.  He or she said, "Sawadee Ka" in a singsong voice and that was the end of my Thailand trip.

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 1,850 km (1,149 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0