Day C8: Did All I Could, Time to Bounce - Laos is More: The Minimalism Tour - CycleBlaze

Day C8: Did All I Could, Time to Bounce

The setback with the electricty was magnified when I met back with Mr. Khu at juristic and explained I had paid the bills.  He went to check the room again, and couldn't figure out why the power was still off.  

After a long series of phone calls he said to me, "You also needed to tell them send a guy to reinstall the meter and pay them an additional 1800 baht."   How was I to know?  The clerk at the office just said, "Pay this money" and I did.  

Apparently the meter had been completely disconnected from the grid, hence the need to reinstall it.  There was only 10 minutes left before the office closed so forget about that.   It was to get even worse.  A 6-day Thai holiday was approaching and the office wouldn't be open again until another week.  

After a few chat messages back and forth with my contact here, we agreed to meet the following week.  He apologized that things had gone so shitty, and offered to do anything he could to help.  I ended up forwarding him many pictures of the condo and a location, and he said he would try to help sell it.  He also encouraged me to list it online which I will do.  The ball already got rolling on that.  He was really impressed with the pictures.  

As he explained partly in the messages, "You know as well as I do that in Thailand it is easy to buy yet difficult to sell.  Agents are expensive and not honest.  They also know that foreigners who sell are the ones who want to go home [or quit Thailand] and therefore they decide everything in their favor.  I can help you meet the hypothetical buyers when you are not in Thailand.   For any of your decisions I am here to be of help and will gladly do so"

Meanwhile, Mr. Khu found a mechanic to fix the plumbing and get the water back online.  So that was a step-by-step success.  While this was going on I did a thorough damage assessment in the condo and made a long list.  The majority of it involves mold damage which is just nasty.  I aired the place out completely.  I also found out that whoever was staying there illegally had also stolen the television and replaced it with a dinky version.  As well, they had stolen the soft mattress I had put in.

After all that I thanked him for all his help and explained that there wasn't much point staying in Pattaya if there was no power in my condo.  So I would simply go back to Bangkok on the bus and then return to Pattaya when the offices re-opened.

This turned out to make the most sense for a lot of reasons.  Most everything else would shut down for 6 days, but the fitness classes at F45 were still up and running in Bangkok along with places to fix my bike, so why not head back there.  As well, since everyone else would be coming to Pattaya and insane traffic jams in this direction, the opposite direction would be empty roads.  It was a no brainer what to do then.

Meanwhile I was reminded of what I had read in Atomic Habits recently that you can't expect things to happen all at once, that is, until they do.   Another friend backed that up and basically said, "Keep on doing what you're doing.  You will unload that condo."

Right on cue, the mechanic guy came to meet me lounging at the Novana poolside and gave me a mailbox key.  Another step done.  Had I just bounced off in a huff and a puff, I would have not gotten the key.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0