Day 4 Bike:  Discombobulated - Laos is More: The Minimalism Tour - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2023

Day 4 Bike:  Discombobulated

It was not so easy to find another guesthouse after the trucks had foiled things up.  First I went back into the Kasi town and tried not to let the trucks spoil my trip but who was I kidding.  One driver had even offered to throw my bike on and take it over the mountains to Luang Prabang.  Maybe if I was in a better mood I'd have taken him up on it but I refused.

Once back in town the road forked off to the right.  This was brand new territory and all the truck traffic had disappeared.  The map showed Nola guesthouse and Tao guesthouse as good options.  I called into the second one and met up with some backpackers who were staying in this remote area.  We had an interesting chat to compare trip notes but the owner was nowhere to be found.  Eventually we were told I'd have to wait 2 hours and they apologized and suggested another guesthouse back at the crossroads.

After checking in I just emptied everything  out and dumped it in the ground.  Minimalist systems could wait until later, I needed a mental break from everything and everyone.

My packing systems represented my mental state after the trucks
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was time to properly grieve the loss of my father but it wasn't a feeling of sorrow, it was actually a celebration of his life.  He was a great man and I realized how much of this philosophy was inspired from him.  The key takeaway I got was that he never stopped living his principles and taking charge despite how many people took advantage of him.  He was a natural born leader.

As if right on cue the skies opened up and the weather became bliss.  Next was a hunt for dinner.  The food had been hard to come by the last few days so I was starving.  Of course that is when dozens of invitations from locals to party and drink with them materialized but I wasn't in the mood.  They were disappointed when I cycled away but that's how it is. 

Eventually I did find a restaurant and the hostess was already drinking insanely strong whisky with her family.  I settled for just fried rice and beer.  The music changed to English songs and sure enough there was karaoke and dancing.  I felt treated like a celebrity the whole trip just because I was a white farang on a bicycle.  They love us western imperialists from the past for some reason.  It doesn't appear the locals have the same fondness towards Russia and China.  Just saying.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0