Under a Tiki Moon - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2023

Under a Tiki Moon

DAY THREE

 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Coffee! I like a little coffee in my creamer is what my grandma used to say. I agree. After two nights in the tent my body is rigid and a little sore. My feet are doing well and as long as it doesn’t get too cold in the morning my hands remain somewhat useful. Cupping the coffee with both hands helps me gain enough nimbleness to break down the wet tent and stuff it in my pannier. Morning packing is already getting routine but I’m still shuffling gear around trying to find the perfect spot for each individual item. Mondays flat had me pulling tools, tubes and a pump out of three different places. Not anymore! I’m down to just two, hahaha.

 

Heart 1 Comment 0

The ride into Muncie is gorgeous because it is lots and lots of downhill and very few cars. I hit the bike shop for two new tubes and a new patchkit. The old patches I was carrying delaminated and were trash. Kirk’s bike shop in Muncie is friendly and doesn’t ask a lot of questions. Apparently they don’t see to many touring cyclists. I met another cyclist just north of town named Dennis that filled the void conversationally. I like talking to people and hearing their stories. The road crossings here are a touch more dangerous but the trail to Gaston is pancake flat.

 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I took the ACA route N and then W on Wheeling Pike. The weather was beautiful and the riding was superb. Calm winds are prevailing. Finally. I picked up the trail again S of Marion and powered by a peanut butter and banana burrito I rode straight through the city. Outside of town I was stopped by a train crossing. It was breaking so it took a while to clear and was so loud. Screeching metal on metal tore into my soul and attempted to perforate my eardrums. When it finally cleared there was another cyclist on the other side. We both appeared befuddled and yelled pleasantries into the now empty space between us. 

Sweetster Switcher is a well-kept trail with lots of huge signage declaring the many rules that keep it that way. What I picked up was NO camping. I detoured to a Subway where I scarfed a footlong and looked at the map. It was getting dark. I called the police and inquired about pitching my tent for the nght. They pointed out a large field just across the county line where I’d be safe and I was on my way.

Pulling my tent out at dusk I realized I had not air dried it during one of my numerous stops. Hey, it’s still early in the trip and I’m still getting things together. Inside was damp and musty. Maybe a little farty. I was pitched just off the trail but behind some trees and bushes. It was dark enough to be incognito anyways. I did awake in the night and see what I thought might be my first UAP but it turned out to be the moon glowing like a tiki torch in the yellow haze of reflecting sunlight. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 146 miles (235 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0