The Greys are Greying - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2023

The Greys are Greying

DAY TWO

 

Heart 0 Comment 0

The Cardinal Greenway is quiet and beyond the plentiful pit stops there is nothing remarkable. The haze from the Canadian wildfires limited any scenic views and if there were any flying saucers they were tucked into that smoke. I imagine folks really getting competitive on these long flat stretches with the Strava PRs. I bet the difference in many people’s time scores is street crossings. There were quite a few roads that it took me a minute to get across.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m back on my peanut butter and banana burrito thing for food and I have a huge bag of mixed nuts and dried pineapple. I’m also carrying like 30 of those Starbuck’s via instant coffees. I guess what I’m saying is I didn’t stop much. 

When I did it was in a dreary little burg off the trail and down a shitty highway to a discount grocer. The place was Amish, which I really like, and I had been told they have cheap sandwiches. I got the smoked turkey with yellow cheddar, lettuce, dill pickles and super white bread. I’m talking wonder bread or something close here. The sandwich was huge but very generic. I ate half and got mustard all over my already filthy clothes. I’d be happier if I smelled of wood smoke but fires are prohibited on the CG. Dirty will just have to do. By the way, no one gave me any grief or said a single word to me about camping at a trailhead. It’s not advertised but I think it’s tolerated.

I was staying with a friend E of Muncie so I finally got off the CG and onto some Indiana backroads. The scenery was beautiful even though limited by haze. The monstrous windmills looming over exaggerated power lines connected by jigsaw metal towers against a foreground of too young green corn and a backdrop of lung curdling wildfire smoke was apocalyptic. I put morning dew on repeat and staggered up and down the miniature hills weeping for humanity. 

The ride was over before the song could repeat. Gawd I love the Grateful Dead! I was settled in early, all of my ducks in a row, waiting for my friend Tina to get off work. I ate the other half of my sandwich and a packet of Ramen. I drank a bunch of water and plugged in my various accoutrements. I sat in a very comfortable camp chair in between peeing in the woods.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Tina arrived and then we drove into Muncie for bananas and ice cream. I had a small chocolate malt from DQ. Very Indiana. She toured me around the city and Ball State. She filled me in on the history and showed me the bike shops. She showed me a way better route to get into town in the morning than I was planning on taking. Thanks, Tina! Back at the house I climbed into my tent and slept in wonderful familiarity. No campfire. No flying saucers. 

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 90 miles (145 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0