The Mothership Awaits - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2023

The Mothership Awaits

DAY FIFTEEN 

Today is my 22nd wedding anniversary. I grow more in love with each passing moment and simply ecstatic that I have Tracy and Michael in my life. Absolute joy. Now, we’ve put in the work to get here. I think I left the door open for the first couple of years because I was afraid. How could anyone possibly plan a long relationship with a guy that was disabled? Will she leave me when I need her most because of the situation? Will I commit and then lose it all like my parents, divorced after 20 years. We certainly have our struggles but after all this time turbo is my best friend, my most true confidant and the only real meaning I have found on this blue marble floating in space. I love you, Tracy!

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I woke up this morning in the gravel pits and after a quick meditation and a photo I packed up. I couldn’t help thinking of an old book from my youth titled, “If Life Is a Bowl of Cherries, What Am I Doing In the Pits?” By Erma Bombeck. Perfect because T loves her and it makes the whole morning scene feel good and right. Whatever that means.

Heart 1 Comment 0

It’s 3 miles to McDonald’s and coffee and a bathroom and washing my face and hands and logging into some Wi-Fi! I enjoy it all and FaceTime T for all the I love you’s I can squeeze out in a few minutes.

Monday morning America unfolds before me at the local Walmart where I replace my sunglasses with a $5 pair and pick up a bit of fruit. Traveling again I’m thankful for the gorgeous day because the head winds are a total bummer in this stretch of Rt 66. I duck into the Mother Jones memorial in Mount Olive. The town is gorgeous and the very definition of quant. The monument is incredibly well kept and I enjoy my apple and the rest. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Later I stop at DQ that appears on my route and have an anniversary lunch. The musak is tuned to classic country, Ts fave! King of the Road is playing and I think of karaoke and how much I love and miss her. I don’t even care if the staff sees me weeping into my ice cream. I’m softer than any soft serve and that’s ok.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I finally reach the MCT trails in Madison County and woah are they nice. I change the music up and play Fleetwood Mac, The Chain and it’s a great vibe. I pull over and dry the tent out in the afternoon sun. I’m enjoying myself.

1 mile from WS host I get a txt that her water is out and her AC. Do I have any backup plan? Well, no. But I’m pretty adaptable. I ask if I can still pitch my tent in the yard, I don’t need any of that stuff so if I can just camp in the yard I am fine. She says OK. GREAT! 

When I get there she asks if I want to stay at her boyfriend’s house, that he offered it up to camp. She talks fast and changes her mind faster. Her boyfriend is Vernon and his place is not far but she’ll drive me cause the bad road’s rough with heavy traffic, no shoulder and a high speed limit that no one follows, including her. Before we go she assures me that they are both staying at his place and that she will bring me back to the path anytime I want in the morning. She then fills my hands with water and cookies and I become much more malleable to the plan.

Heart 1 Comment 0

We pull a few racks out of the truck bed and load my stuff in. Nancy has a little step stool and lots of energy. She climbs in, grabs the bike so fast I’m like whoa and we’re on our way!

At Vernon’s place I set up camp in the back acreage and lay on my back in the tent. The weather is phenomenal and just perfect for the night. I watch the dusk turn to night and the stars slowly pop out of the sky, some bright and twinkling, others so distant and lost in the darkness. And that’s when I see it!!! A perfect line of maybe 25 closely spaced blueish glowing lights moving across the sky. They disappear before I can get my camera out and I lay there in complete shock. I’ve done it! I’ve witnessed my first UAP. I slowly calm down and drift off to sleep while trying to keep my eyes on the sky, awestruck.

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 626 miles (1,007 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Mike AylingCongratulations on your 22nd Wedding Anniversary.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago