Support Your Local Sheriff (1969) - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2023

Support Your Local Sheriff (1969)

DAY FOURTEEN 

Two weeks on the bike now. I’m gaining momentum each morning when I wake up and think about which route I’m going to follow. The sun glows through the basement windows as I gather my belongings, grab the sheets and pillowcase from this one and done bed and head upstairs for breakfast.

Karl rides his bike and beau trots alongside every morning and I work on my writing. With his return Beau is happy to see me and even happier to smell Karl cooking. 

Bacon and egg promises. I get my dry white toast and the circle is closed.

Karl rides with me and takes me all over. It’s wonderful to just follow someone’s back wheel for a while and leave navigating to him. We see Lincoln’s first tomb where they tried to steal his body and the rotunda tomb above, splendid in its grace and glory. I rub Lincoln’s nose on the bronze bust near the entrance; a well known good luck charm for the locals. I see his home and the Frank Lloyd Wright home down the way. The old capitol and the new. We ride south to one of only 6 covered bridges left in the state and there we say our parting words. Karl heads home to Beau and I continue my journey S and W.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

There’s corn on both sides I of this crazy deep country road the sun beats overhead so hot that the tar on the road bubbles and blisters. I hear the constant popping as my tires roll over them and they burst with tiny crackles and snaps. Out on a more popular highway my sticky wheels pick up gravel and track it through my fenders creating a sharp scratching noise from the dragging of rocks against plastic before finally wearing off. There’s not much out here except me and my thoughts and the corn.

I carry on until I don’t.

During a break at station I hear a biker refer to Fanchon as an old 10 speed. We both balk at the attention and stand up a little straighter. I’m calling fire departments and police to see if there’s anything above board offered for camping in the next small town. I leave messages and my sunglasses and I’m back to the road.

At a T intersection I have two choices. Right is a campground that I’ve spoken with. $25 a night for a patch of grass with no access water or electricity. Left is the last few miles before Lichfield and the unknown. It’s getting late as I turn left. $25 is too much and water is a human right!

Wandering around in the gravel pits off the side of the road and next to the Illinois Department of Transportation Maintenance building I get a call back from the local Sargent. He tells me of a building S of town where he has heard cyclists will set up right behind and be gone by the morning. He can’t give me permission but damn if I’m not thankful at his politeness to even call me back. No worries though because I’ve located a place between a tall pile of rocks and the train tracks. I’m pitched quick and then at home among the stars.

No UAP but there sure is a lot flying around up there.  

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 587 miles (945 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0