Day 4 - ending at Remington, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2022

Day 4 - ending at Remington, IN

Day 4 - Watseka, IL to Remington, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

12:15am this morning was the third time motel party noise had woke me up. I got up and found my ear plugs. Wasn't sure how comfortable they'd be while sleeping, but they worked well, letting me sleep soundly to 5:00am.

Checked my phone first thing. It indicated it's in "Airplane mode". Turning that off turned on the mobile connection. I hadn't changed anything, but the phone lately has been turning on different apps on its own while in my pocket, I think due to the high humidity (and being in my pocket). Anyway, not realizing what was going on last night with this phone further proves I'm too old to be out wandering around by myself!

I sent an email message to my wife sharing the good news and made plans to leave Watseka today and get to Fountain Park in Remington, Indiana.

First, motel breakfast at 6:30am. There weren't any cups for measuring out the waffle batter, so I estimated - a little high, I'm thinking.

I was following Google Map directions for getting through and out of town. Started out at 10:23am. I varied the route some to pass by Watseka's historic courthouse. After that, I overshot the road I meant to turn on and ended up a mile farther south before I made my turn east. This put me on CR-1600N, which has gravel for a ways. That's OK. In about nine miles I'd be at the Illinois/Indiana state line, and back on my original routing plan.

I was still in Illinois at noon, with 9.1 miles to report.

It had been raining a lot to the northwest this morning, and it would be hit or miss whether the rain would make it this far south. I arrived at the state line at 12:38pm. A short jog north, then I'd be going east on Newton County CR-1700S. But the rain to the north looked close. My phone beeped a weather alert about rain starting shortly, so I stopped to get everything covered with plastic. I just got the bike covered when the first drops arrived. I had more wet-weather packing rearrangement to do, and needed to get my rain gear on. So I decided to move under the porch awning of a nearby building. I was so fortunate that this building is here, for the rain was heavy and had some lightning - one strike real close! It was a line of rain, and would be passing by in a while. I worked on report writing during that time.

Back on the road at 1:58pm. Two miles east then one mile north to Kentland, which has a road going east just north of US-24. I was in Kentland at 2:35pm, but not out of town on the road I wanted (CR-1550S) until 2:55pm, thanks to another missed turn.

At 3:42pm, I was hearing a faint "Hello, hello?" coming from my phone, which was in my pocket. It was a phone call from a friend I used to work with. Except he didn't call me, my phone pocket-dialed him! Didn't matter, it was fun talking to him as I rode along. I'm going to have to see if I can lower the touch sensitivity on this phone.

I passed Goodland at 3:55pm. Took a break at 4:15pm to eat peanuts. About six miles left to go. At 4:33pm I was at the Newton/Jasper county line. Riding was getting difficult due to the gravel road being wet. I decided a mile south detour to US-24, and a mile back north in Remington would be quicker than walking four miles. So that's what I did.

I arrived at Fountain Park at 5:46pm. The place was busy a few weeks ago, for sure, since their Chautauqua was taking place then, but no one is here today. No information sign, no phone number to call. There are campsites, but most look like they'd flood in a rain, which is predicted for tonight and tomorrow. And the bathrooms are locked. I considered options, ultimately deciding on another unscheduled motel night.

At 6:39pm, I was at the Remington Super 8. Got the next to last ground floor room (#111 - with a window view of a corn field to the west). The motel is near the I-65 interchange, so fast-food places are close by. I walked over to McDonald's for a carryout supper. Considering the weather forecast for tomorrow (chance of heavy rain), and finding out they have laundry machines here, I had the front desk clerk put me down for another night here. That will give me time to catch up on report writing. I got started with that right after supper. Then to bed at 10:26pm CDT. The CDT/EDT line is close by, but this area is on Eastern Time.

Jeff

Spent: $89.55 plus $5 (motel room) + $7.46 (supper) = $120.01.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 179 miles (288 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0