Day 30 - ending near Michigan City, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2022

Day 30 - ending near Michigan City, IN

Day 30 - Berrien Springs, MI to Michigan City, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another morning for getting up late - 6:35am. Finished and posted journal page for yesterday, then packed. Ducks were landing on the river in front of my tent, then swimming upstream. I left the campsite at 9:20am, then stopped at the park office. They thanked me for staying and gave me a receipt. Back outside, I tightened the bike's chain, since it was noisy this morning. Turns out the chain was rubbing against the chain guard, and that was due to the way I had leaned the bike against the picnic table this morning.

Today's destination was to make it to Michigan City Campground, where I had made a reservation earlier in the week for staying tonight. Another day of riding south and west.

I stayed east of the St. Joseph River, heading south on MI-139, which brought me soon to Hoppers Family Restaurant. The breakfast I ordered was the combination I like to get, and was a special. Had pleasant conversations with some women customers, one who hikes up mountains. She said, "You can't appreciate all God has made until you see it from a mountain top."

With ice in my thermos, I was on my way at 10:30am, continuing south on Range Line Road. Another beautiful day. 

Walton Road, which I came to at 11:41am, would take me over the St. Joseph River into Buchanan, but the bridge was closed, and there was a detour. The detour was east, actually northeast to US-31. Noon arrived just as I was getting on US-31. 10.9 miles so far. The shoulder of the freeway has so much debris! Anyway, I was over the river, heading into Buchanan on Niles-Buchanan Road. I stopped at Smokin' Joe's BBQ trailer to buy lunch, which I ate at Smith Park in Buchanan.

I still had 38 miles to go. And ahead for me were a lot of hills, which I didn't realize at the time. If I had to do this again, I would route it differently. Anyway, take it as it comes. I stopped at a few cemeteries for breaks in the shade, sitting - sometimes laying, on the grass.

At 3:49pm [EDT] I left Michigan on Three Oaks Road and entered Indiana on CR-N500E. No sign, just a change in road condition. Now it was 2:49pm [CDT].

A sign advertising a soda fountain at the Hesston Steam Museum was ahead. I turned in, because a cold drink with ice would be really nice. My senior discount was $2.50 to get into the park - a small price to pay. At Doc's Soda Fountain I ordered a vanilla soda. It was everything I'd hoped it would be. Now, to look around a little. They had big train rides and little train rides. Seemed like the little train was more popular. I talked briefly with an older fellow who had rode his antique tractor six miles to get here. Another slow way to travel!

I left the steam museum at 4:16pm to ride some more hills, except the terrain leveled out some. Later, the hills were back.

While on CR-N400W, I crossed US-20 at 5:16pm and US-35 at 5:31pm. My GPS routing was for getting to Dunewood Campground, but it went by close to Michigan City Campground. I finally found a spot where I could pull off and check my location. I was only three miles away! Thankfully, I hasn't over-shot the turnoff.

I was at the campground entrance at 6:41pm, and at site #63 at 6:55pm. Set up, walked to the highway for a sunset picture, then bought an ice cream sandwich from the camp store. It's good to be here.

Jeff

Spent: $12.97 plus $5 (breakfast) + $11 plus $5 (lunch) + $2.50 (admission fee) + $3.21 plus $3 (fountain soda) + $65.27 (campsite) + $7.45 (Gatorade, ice cream sandwich) = $115.40.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesYikes! The smoke coming out of that funnel! Good thing the planet didn’t have a lot of them back in its day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Nowadays, I think it's what we can't see that's the concern.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 1,135 miles (1,827 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0