Plans change: Dijon to Royat - A Summer Meander Through France - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2015

Plans change: Dijon to Royat

This morning I checked the trains to the west, and surprise! They weren't running through due to track work. So now, where to go? Hey, look, there's a train to Clermont Ferrand at 10:11 from Dijon. If I hustle, I can make it, and that's what I did. This was going to be a rather large change, as contrary to Poitiers, Clermont is not flat. There would be a lot of climbing on the route, and I wondered if I would be prepared. From the station in Clermont to the campground in Royat it's only five kilometers or so, but there is a 400 meter difference in elevation. I nearly made it all the way, but for the last few hundred meters I was obliged to walk.

So here I am in Royat safely ensconced in my tent and wanting dinner. Pizza is on hand in the campground restaurant, and after that, early to bed.

Home sweet home for a couple of days.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view up from the campsite
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 km (14 miles)
Total: 23 km (14 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0