1 week to go - 3 old blokes tackle the Mawson Trail - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2021

1 week to go

It’s less than a week until we leave for Adelaide to start the Mawson Trail. it’s an iconic 900 km ride from Adelaide through the wine districts of Clare and McClarenvale, and then north through the Flinders Ranges and on to Wilpena Pound and Blinman.
There’s 3 of us doing the ride, with the luxury of a support vehicle so we don’t have to lug bottles of Riesling and other stuff. There’s Pete, retired teacher, easy going, practical and a steadying influence when that is needed. Steve, also retired and more used to suits than Lycra, but may still wear a tie out of habit. Also easy going and enjoys a cheeky Riesling. And me Dennis, Optometrist , keen cycle tourist, hopeless sense of direction and often in need of a steadying influence.

This ride is dedicated to my great mate Ray, who died last week. He introduced me to cycle touring many years ago, and without him I may not have stumbled across this humble mode of transport that has become a great passion and changed my life. Our trip across America remains one of my most cherished memories. I’ll be thinking of you as we battle dusty windy roads, corrugations and headwinds. You certainly taught me a range of expletives that I’ll put to good use!

My great mate Ray taking a well earned break in hell’s canyon
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Deleted AccountLooking forward to this journal. I rode the Mawson from Wilpena back to Adelaide in 96. You will love it.
Cheers, Andrew
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterDennis
My condolences on the passing of your mate Ray. This ride seems a wonderful way to honor him and reflect on the wonderful times you shared. I look forward to following along. Best, Susan
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dennis LangleyTo Susan CarpenterThanks Susan. Ray was a great guy. We did the western part of the trans America trail about 6 years ago. The journal of that trip is on crazyguyonabike. If you search for Eugene to Jackson Hole you should find it.
I can’t wait to start our ride. Dennis
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dennis LangleyTo Deleted AccountThanks Andrew. Can’t wait to start it. Dennis
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Dennis LangleyLooking forward to following along. Just an alert, in case you didn’t know already: you should be prepared to be evicted from CGOAB soon for the infraction of posting over here. You might want to make plans for migrating your other two journals before you get kicked out.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago