in the bag(s) - Seattle towards Minnesota - CycleBlaze

in the bag(s)

Q: What all do you take?
A: Here's a list of everything I took on this trip: 
BICYCLE:
rear rack
rear panniers
rain covers for bags
handlebar bag
cyclometer (tells distance, mph, average speed, fastest speed, cumulative miles, time elapsed, and time)
water bottle cages (3)
water bottles (3)
tire pump - about 8 inches long
straps with buckles (to strap the sleeping bag to my rack)
lock - this is a first for me... I've always used my eyes for a lock 
CAMPING 
tent/rain fly/poles stakes
sleeping bag
sleeping bag liner (sometimes I sleep on top of the bag and use the liner for a blanket)
compression bag (makes the sleeping bag smaller/more portable)
sleeping pad - inflatable
flashlight
pillow - inflatable 
MISCELLANEOUS 
adhesive tape
playing cards - I don't really have a reason to take this. I can play solitaire, among other games, on my PDA. I think the only reason I take it on all of my trips is the fact that it's the only item which has been with me on every single one of my trips. It's a tiny deck, not much bigger than 3 inches by 2 inches.

Heart 1 Comment 0

stamps
emergency information card
maps money/traveler's checks
notebook
pens
swiss army knife
wallet
ziploc bags
hand cleaner
garbage bags (for dirty laundry - clothes are toxic after riding all day!)
earplugs
sewing kit

CLOTHING 
cycling gloves
cycling shoes
flip-flops - for the evening and in the shower
hat - used for covering up "helmet hair," though now my hair is so short I don't really need it
helmet (cheaper than neurosurgery)
bandana (2) - useful for everything!
t-shirts (4)
cycling shorts (4)
socks (4 pair)
long sleeve shirt
head cover - for cold days, it fits under a helmet
headband - actually an earband, it keeps ears warm on cold days
underwear (3)
cargo pants - the legs zip off so they can be used as long pants or short pants
rain jacket/pants
windbreaker
sweatshirt
sunglasses
watch 
TOOLS/SPARE PARTS 
pliers
tire tools
allen wrenches
chain tool
spoke wrench
screwdrivers, both slot head and phillips
pedal wrenches
lubricant
spare tire
spare tube
freehub remover
pocket vise
spare chain links
3 spare cables: 1)rear brake 2)rear derailleur 3)transverse cable
spare spokes
patch kit 
HYGIENE/FIRST AID 
bandaids
antibacterial cream
ibuprofen
acetaminophen
dental floss
toothbrush
toothpaste
detergent
insect repellent
sunscreen - SPF50
chapstick
soap
shampoo
toilet paper
camp towel
razor blades
shaving cream
mirror 
ELECTRONICS 
pocket PC
extra battery
pocket PC recharger
cellphone
cellphone recharger
camera camera
charger
iPod Shuffle
Shuffle charger
ear buds
extra SD card for the camera and PC SD card reader - so I can transfer pictures to the blog while I'm on the road 

Taking all of the electronic stuff is sort of new for me, and I almost feel like I'm "cheating" somehow. Maybe it's because I'm not really "getting away from it all" if I have a cellphone.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesIt’s interesting to look at the gear list from the 00’s because of the electronics. iPod shuffle, eh? Pocket PC? And not really getting away from it all because you’re carrying a cellphone. All that’s really changed, hasn’t it? I’m not one to spend a lot of time reading gear lists, but I might look at the ones from older trips more often now because of the time-capsule quality.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BinghamTo Kathleen JonesIt really has changed. I'm also working on my 1982 journal, and am realizing how things were WAY different with that trip. Jeff Lee (a great poster in CycleBlaze) called the 70's and 80's the "Golden Age of Bicycle Touring." I think there's some truth to that.

Of course, as I get older, these modern comforts ARE nice. :-)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago