Manito to Morton - Celebrating in Manito, Illinois - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2022

Manito to Morton

Day 2 - Manito, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 4:45am this morning - in time to see the moon glowing through the trees. I'm not sure when I'd starting thinking about heading home today instead of going to Atlanta, but it must have been yesterday before I reached Manito, because I remember confessing to Bruce that I might do that. There was a chance of rain today, and more so tomorrow. Also, the wind was predicted to be strong from the south again today, and tomorrow from the north, which would make it headwinds for the whole trip. If I headed home today, it would be a sweet tailwind ride all the way.

The Buffalo Gnats were back this morning. That inspired me to get packed up at a quicker pace.

6:06am - the sun's up and the tent is empty
Heart 2 Comment 0

I checked the weather radar - a storm cell was in upper central Missouri, so it'd be a while before rain. At 7:03am I was on my way home. I was looking forward to clearing the forest to give the wind a chance to blow the gnats away. That did help when I reached CR-2750E.

7:20am - heading north on CR-2750E to a more open road
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was really surprised a little later while still on that road. It was getting dark to the southwest and northwest, and I was hearing thunder.

7:40am - uh-oh
Heart 1 Comment 2
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerComing in fast . . .
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Shortly I'd be turning east for a straight run into Manito. Certainly I'd beat the rain. Well, I would have, if I'd started riding this morning at 7:00am instead of 7:03am! Those 3 minutes were enough to get me wet, but not soaked. I would have been soaked, except for the overhang of a seed company office at the south edge of town. From 7:49am until 8:29am, I was very thankful I had a dry place to stand.

8:07am - it's wet
Heart 1 Comment 0
8:27am - I'm mostly dry, thanks to Channel Seed
Heart 2 Comment 0

When the rain was over, I headed on up the highway to Casey's for today's supply of Gatorade, then on further to Lee's Family Restaurant.

8:40am - time for breakfast
Heart 2 Comment 2
Timothy SwitzerLee's sits on the spot where my root beer stand was ... back in the day. In the background you can see part of the gas station and then the Country General ... that's the store I built and ran after I got out of the Navy. My son-in-law (Jason Hunter) runs it now with the help of his eldest son, Will.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
Wow, I didn't know any of that! Thanks for the history.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

While eating I figured out the route for home, marking up my Tazewell County bicycling map printout. For most of the way it would be "turn left, turn right, turn left, turn right . . ." This breakfast break was just what I needed, and was an enjoyable time, in part to the friendly staff at Lee's.

8:57am - my usual
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was on my way following my marked-up map at 9:39am. Buffalo Gnats were still around, but were having a hard time bugging me in the strong south wind.

9:58am - looking south from Mason County Highway 4 at North Quiver Ditch
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hickory Hill Grove, a 30 foot bump in the road, was ahead. It provided fun coasting on the downhill side.

10:13am - view east from the top of Hickory Hill Grove
Heart 2 Comment 0
10:22am - looking north from Mason County Highway 4. "The Mound", another bump on this flat plain area, can be seen to the left.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I crossed the Mackinaw River at 10:58am on Wagonseller Road. Gnats were noticeable here, so I kept moving.

11:54am - looking east from Christmas Tree Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
12:04pm - getting on the aptly-named Towerline Road
Heart 1 Comment 0

Farm lanes that disappear around a bend or over a hill leave me wondering what's beyond. Here's one where I took a break.

12:34pm – quoting Charles Kuralt: "I wonder what's around the bend."
Heart 0 Comment 0
1:18pm - Dillon Creek west of Tremont
Heart 1 Comment 0
2:09pm - following Fourth Avenue into Morton
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived home at 2:40pm, just beating the 3:00pm school's-out traffic. Hung up the tent in the garage, took a shower, then a nap. Later I read up on Buffalo Gnats. By then I'd figured out that some of them had bitten me. Here's a link to what the Illinois Department of Public Health says about them.

They are also known as Black Flies. Here's a song/video titled "Blackfly" by the National Film Board of Canada that hints at how aggravating they are:

Total today 37 miles. Moving average 7.9mph. Top speed 23.2mph.

Spent: $4.69 (Casey's) + $13.77 plus $5 (Lee's Family Restaurant) = $23.46.

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 76 miles (122 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesCongrats on your retirement. As someone once told me, it’s the best job he ever had. Me too, and now you. Enjoy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks! A church wiring project and volunteer work has kept me busy, but now there's also time for naps!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago