Day 0 - The Drive - Lower Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2023

Day 0 - The Drive

This tour continues the quest to ride all the Great Lakes, visiting as many lighthouses as I can. I am joined again by my older son Cameron. I will cover some of the same ground that my younger son Simon and I covered in 2021 on a short tour along the east coast of Lake Michigan. 

Lake Michigan - East - Short Lighthouse Tour

This year the plan is to ride the lower half of Lake Michigan from Ludington, MI to Manitowoc, WI taking the SS Badger ferry back to Ludington to finish half of the lake. This plan went south but more on that later.

We left our home area of Louisville at 3 pm and drove up to our daughter's home in Grass Lake, MI to spend the night and will continue the drive to Ludington in the morning.

When we arrived we discovered they had had a pretty strong storm the previous night and their electricity had been out all day. It was a mild night so slept with the windows open.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0