Day 12 - Getting past Buffalo - The Long Way to Cleveland - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2023

Day 12 - Getting past Buffalo

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was about 35 degrees when I woke up this morning. Condensate was dripping from the ceiling of the tent, and I did not want to get out of my sleeping bag. I put on the sandals that Bob had given me and prepared a nice hot breakfast of oatmeal and tea. The path by this point was no longer gravel. It was a mix of paved trail and roads, and this section is called the Tonawanda creek trail. The paved trail was pretty rough due to roots lifting the asphalt and creating bone shaking bumps. But as I passed Tonawanda and approached Buffalo, the path became quite nice. Unlike the last time I passed through Buffalo, this time I followed a bike path almost all the way past the city. There was a section that went through the middle of a construction site, so for aa couple blocks, I had to fight transit trains and traffic before getting back onto decent trail. I had a bit over 70 miles to ride today to get to the room I had booked for the night, so I couldn't waste a lot of time.

Route 5 south of Buffalo is one of the worst roads that I have ridden on. Non-stop traffic creates so much noise, it's hard to do anything but grind out the hills and try not to wonder why you're even doing this. But in the end, I made to the Airbnb I had booked, and settled in for a good night's sleep.

Big canoes at the camp.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were geese everywhere, and that can mean only one thing - there was goose poop everywhere, too.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Colin BakerAn old pedestrian bridge?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
jim katzinTo Colin BakerI think it's bigger than a pedestrian bridge, but it's been out of commission for a long time. A lot of steel there.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Getting close to Buffalo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This path through Tonawanda and Buffalo wasn't built the last time I rode through.
Heart 2 Comment 1
William AustinWow! That looks ideal. I'm jealous.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
62
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Peace Bridge to Canada
Heart 0 Comment 2
Colin BakerThis is the St. Lawrence? I thought big ships traversed this, but maybe it’s smaller tugs and barges.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
jim katzinTo Colin BakerThe big ships take the Welland Canal, up near Niagara Falls.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
a very cool piece of art
Heart 2 Comment 0
I stopped at this restaurant for a Beef on Weck. If you've never been to Buffalo, you don't know what you're missing.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Colin BakerSo it’s the special roll. Looks tasty.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
jim katzinTo Colin BakerYeah, I hadn't had Beef on Weck since I was in Buffalo in 1985.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great Lake Erie.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from tonight's bedroom.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 777 miles (1,250 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0