Sheffield - London: Back in the house. - London - Middlesbrough - Sheffield - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2008

Sheffield - London: Back in the house.

Patrick had a full set of classes today and I was due to leave around 1pm. We said our goodbyes. I repacked the bike. I gave myself enough time to allow for wrong turnings, then, following Patrick's directions down steep back streets, rode into the city-centre almost entirely on the brakes. I did take a wrong turning, but asked directions in time to stop myself diverting to Chesterfield.

Downhill all the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Later
Heart 0 Comment 0
Neighbours
Heart 0 Comment 0
T'way to go.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sheffield station in daylight.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From London's St. Pancras station, I followed my usual tourist route home [British Museum, Trafalgar Square, Buck House]. I made tea and mentally patted myself on the back for my first, however meagre, camping trip on the bike. Will I do it again? We'll see.

London St. Pancras
Heart 0 Comment 0
St. Pancras meeting place.
Heart 0 Comment 0
St. Pancras meeting place.
Heart 1 Comment 0
St. Pancras. Statue of poet John Betjeman, instrumental in saving the station facade from demolition in the 1960s.
Heart 1 Comment 0
British Museum.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Buckingham Palace.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 km (12 miles)
Total: 747 km (464 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0