Outline - Anti-Clockwise Around Lake Erie - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2017

Outline

Sunday June 18, 2017

This years trip entails a trip around Lake Erie visiting more lighthouses. Why Lake Erie you may ask, why not finish the Pacific coast? Well last year I took a job transfer from Sacramento, California to Louisville, Kentucky. A place that couldn't be any further away from the ocean. Well maybe Kansas could be.

So the Great Lakes seemed like a good alternative to the ocean coastlines. And there's 5 lakes, that is 5 more challenges to do.

This year my oldest son Cameron (15) will be joining me. He did a short trip with me last year around the San Francisco Bay area and wants to do this again. I have spent the winter out-fitting his bike (my old Cannondale mountain bike). While this bike is not 100% suited for touring (it lacks braze-ons in the right places) it will work until he grows into a real touring machine. Besides he may quit after this.

I added fenders and mounted bottle cages on the forks for more water carrying capacity. The frame configuration of this bike does not handle the bigger water bottles.

I also added fenders to my bike.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0