Day 92 Arlington to Bay View State Park - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2023

Day 92 Arlington to Bay View State Park

Okay this is the third time doing this entry. Hope it’s a charm. Poor internet combined with poor cell service is making it difficult to save posts and then they disappear.  

I’m very excited because my friend Michelle is going to meet me and camp at Bay View State Park!  Peter couldn’t get a camping site so he and Henry will head home to Lummi Island.

I had a leisurely morning eating breakfast with Peter then took off in search of the Centennial Trail in Arlington. I suddenly realized it was right next to me. When the trail crossed a street in town, all the cars would stop for me. How nice! I almost felt like I was in Missoula. 

Centennial Trail in Arlington
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beyond the city
Heart 0 Comment 0

 I followed the trail to its northern terminus where the Yakashima barn still stands. The Yakashimas were an American family of Japanese descent who like many others were relocated to internment camps during WW II. Many lost everything they owned. Another sad note in our history (that you probably can’t teach in Florida).

I followed WA 9 past McMurray Lake and Big Lake. It’s a winding, hilly road with a “sometimes shoulder”.  And lots of motorcycles, which I don’t mind. I eventually made my way to the Kulshan Trail on the outskirts of Mount Vernon. 

Kulshan Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
The trail is laden with wild blackberries.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice dappled shade
Heart 0 Comment 0

Soon I was in bustling Mount Vernon and heading across the Division Street bridge amidst heavy traffic. Halfway across I noticed a pedestrian walk on the far side of the bridge. Oh well, too late. Memorial Drive took me to route 20, then I went north along Padilla Bay to the park. I took the Padilla Bay Shore Trail which is about two miles long, hoping to see some wildlife but saw none. 

I got a hiker-biker site, set up my tent and showered. I was in the process of trying to charge my lights and gps when Michelle texted saying she had arrived!  After setting up her tent, she took me out to dinner at a great little restaurant called Fairhaven in nearby Burlington. We returned to camp, shared a delicious bottle of wine and caught up on each other’s lives. We finally retired to our comfy little tents and we’re soon sleeping like babies. Another great day! Thank you Michelle!

The sunset on Padilla Bay
Heart 0 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSorry you didn’t see any wildlife here, but thanks for reminding me of the time when a family of otters swam in on the high tide and lumbered across the bike path right in front of me: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/austintoalbuquerque/the-skagit-delta/#21967_c1z8fleoqxewowm6o97hyi71iy8.

Oh, and congratulations on making it home. Epic journey!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 3,511 miles (5,650 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0