Day 70 West Thumb to West Yellowstone - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2023

Day 70 West Thumb to West Yellowstone

As we were 20 miles off route, I asked Peter to drop me off at West Thumb. I forgot to mention yesterday that there is a lot of road construction going on, a lot of it related to the floods this spring. This placed me at the bottom of a steep climb, not the way I like to warm up in the morning. Oh well, that’s what granny gears are for. 

The road construction continued to the turnoff to Old Faithful. It was new pavement with a middle line either painted or marked with reflectors. Nothing delineated the shoulder and the pavement dropped off about 10 inches at a sharp angle into dirt. Often the center line was just orange rods placed about every 15 feet or so which discouraged some drivers from passing me. There was a lot of climbing, two crossings of the Continental Divide and finally a huge downhill. At one point where there was a pilot car and one lane, I was told to use the “dead lane”. I didn’t like the sound of that but I got to descend in my own lane. I pretended I was Thurid, our beloved octogenarian on Lummi Island who flies fearlessly downhill on her bike. 

I was concerned that there would be headwind when I turned west after Madison but there was so much traffic that they blocked the wind for me. As I rode by the west gate to the park, I looked at the lines of cars waiting to get in; all thoughts of returning to experience some of the natural wonders of Yellowstone with Peter evaporated. I’ll settle for enjoying the natural beauty.

Female elk crossed the road as we left the Lake Lodge area
Heart 0 Comment 0
Continental Divide
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wildflowers for the soul
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another Continental Divide
Heart 0 Comment 0
Next to the second Continental Divide of the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
Biscuit Basin Trail: I was tempted to check it out but was too nervous to leave my bike without a more secure lock. And there were so many people!
Heart 0 Comment 0
 
Such a tragic history. They probably can’t teach this in Florida
Heart 1 Comment 0

Hello Montana!
Heart 1 Comment 1


After entering West Yellowstone, I managed to find the Yellowstone Grizzly RV park and then I got lost. This place is more like a Metropolis. I wish we were staying here an extra day as there were lots of bakeries and coffee shops in town I’d like to sample. 

Peter picked up some tacos at a food truck that were okay but his salsas are much better.

Today was a frustrating day with all the construction and heavy traffic but I still feel fortunate to have experienced the beauty of our oldest National Park. Maybe we can come back sometime in the fall or spring after the crowds dissipate. 

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 2,556 miles (4,113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Julie O’NeillThe crowds are formidable, but do thin in the pre- or post- seasons. It's truly worth planning to return.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago