Day 62 Saratoga WY to Rawlings WY - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2023

Day 62 Saratoga WY to Rawlings WY

I woke up at 5 o’clock hoping to be on the road by 6:30. There’s always one more thing…. I left at seven. The first 30 miles were magical- I was flying. The wind didn’t seem very strong; the grasses were hardly moving but something was propelling me. Even after I turned west. Then the wind picked up and was in my face. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. 

As I was approaching the entrance ramp for I-80, I met another tourer from Seattle named Brad who was also going to Rawlings. I went ahead of him and never saw him again. Hopefully we’ll meet again. He also does the double bubble butt technique for butt pain. 
Riding on the interstate for thirteen miles was noisy but otherwise easy. You get a generous shoulder with an appropriately placed rumble strip. 
The last 12 miles were somewhat tedious with the strong headwind. Just hunkered down and got er done. 

Interesting ridges approaching Sinclair
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mammoth Sinclair refinery
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wyoming lilac, probably looked better a few weeks ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

      After doing laundry, I went grocery shopping. Peter made some  salsa verde and we had quesadillas for dinner. We met some interesting folks, Jeff and Merri, from St Louis who sold their house and bought a 27 foot airstream and have been on the road for 2 years. 

I feel better today than I have since getting sick last Friday. Hope I’m over the hump.  Tomorrow is a big day with heavy wind predicted. 

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 2,184 miles (3,515 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jim LaneHola Chica!! Glad you powered thru the stomach to the legs where all the real work happens. (The stomach may disagree but she should get over it. ) All good here, Macha tried to kill Otto but that wasn't going to work so she tried plan B which was to go after him again. Otto being a gentlemen just grabbed her by the collar and thought, "This little ranchera chica is pretty hot, she might be okay. He wasnn't her type I guess. All good otherwisw
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Jim LaneMacha was just getting even for Otto latching on to Henry’s cheek/jaw/neck. Naughty canines! Can’t wait for Henry to be reunited with Macha. Hope Otto and Macha work it out.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Julie O’NeillOMG You rode on I-80 🫣
Reply to this comment
8 months ago