Day 40 Netawaka KS to north of Frankfort KS - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2023

Day 40 Netawaka KS to north of Frankfort KS

        

Late start again- around 8:30. I have to improve as the heat and humidity are suffocating by 2-3 in the afternoon. Today was a shorter day as Peter had multiple Zoom meetings related to the fight with Whatcom County public works over proposed ferry fare increases and how they calculate it. So there was a small window when he could pick me up. Back to the rolling hills which turned to a gentle rise which was barely perceptible. 

Wild petunia-haven’t seen this since the KATY Trail
Heart 3 Comment 0


Many small towns today. First Wetmore:

No gas or snacks here but definitely more intact than yesterday’s gas station
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then Goff:

Bank repurposed as tavern in Goff
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are now wind turbines everywhere. I know what that means. Can’t always have sidewinds or tailwinds. 

Every direction you look are wind turbines
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped in Centralia for some ice tea but ended up with strawberry lemonade that was sickenly sweet, even for me. 
The hills are back, less steep but longer. I do like these hills. 

Approaching Frankfort.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Peter picked me up north of Frankfort. Since it was so hot, we had tuna fish salad sandwiches for dinner. Peter has concocted a delicious recipe- hardly tastes like tuna. Late to sleep due to Peter’s Zoom meeting of County Council back home.  Henry and I tried to sleep through it; Henry did better than I did. 

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,495 miles (2,406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0