Day 39 Atchinson Kansas to west of Netawaka - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2023

Day 39 Atchinson Kansas to west of Netawaka

As I was getting ready to leave, Peter returned from walking Henry. Evidently Henry saw a rabbit and tried to chase it, somehow pulling Peter onto his back. He rested briefly then felt he was ok to proceed. We loaded up the bike and drove to the drop off spot in Atchinson. After filling the gas tank and another pit stop for me as the gas station did not have a restroom, I loaded the bike, gave Peter a goodbye kiss and naughty Henry an ear scratch and off I went. This is not river bottom and the hills started on the way out of town. After 7 miles I came to a railroad crossing but the train was not moving. Cars and trucks would drive up and after a while turn around. I wish I knew if there is a real problem like a derailment or how long the train is so I could figure how to get around it. A construction worker drove up and told me this is normal, happens about every 2 weeks and lasts about twenty minutes. Well it’s been about 50 minutes and the train has chugged forward about 20 yards on two occasions. I started to find a way around the train but after backing up about a half mile, the train started moving again so I returned to the crossing. The train then stopped again. By now it’s been almost two hours.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltOMG -- you were waiting over TWO HOURS for that train to move??? Wow....crazy!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

When the train failed to move any more, I called the Atchinson police nonemergent number and was given instructions for how to bike around it. It involved two hilly gravel roads connected by a busy US highway with a nightmare shoulder. A six mile detour and I made it. Of course as soon as I made it to the other side of the railroad tracks on my route, the train started to move for real. 

Looking down on the train from the overpass- still not moving
Heart 2 Comment 0

really enjoyed the hills today. A fun workout but not overwhelming. I stopped in Effingham for some nice cold ice tea. Regretfully I had just eaten a snack and I was way behind due to the train. Martha’s had some seriously delectable-looking cakes and pies! And she had chicken salad sandwiches. The cake and pie wouldn’t travel well on a bike and, with temperatures in the low to mid nineties,  chicken salad would be a poor choice.

Martha’s- a great place to eat, serving breakfast and light lunch and gorgeous desserts
Heart 0 Comment 0

The heat and humidity were really getting to me so I stopped in the next town at the Muscotah Mercantile for lemonade with lots of ice. The restaurant is like a museum with lots of old photos, newspaper articles and several plat drawings of the town at various stages. Another good place to eat but I had no appetite. 

Muscota Mercantile- another good place to eat. Today’s special was meatloaf.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltMeatloaf is my FAVORITE! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
No gas and no snacks in this gas station Whiting
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a while, the hills were becoming less challenging. My sister Sallie, who is known for her gift of gab, called me and we talked via my hearing aids for quite a while. I used to call her when I was doing indoor training during the winter to reduce the drudgery. I stopped in Netawaka when I spied a tree that didn’t appear to be in someone’s yard. Sitting in the blissful shade, I continued my chat with Sallie and ate a PB&J sandwich. A kind man walked up to me and asked if I needed water. He probably thought I had a psychiatric condition, having a conversation with myself as my phone was in my pocket. I’ve noticed that people in Kansas seem much friendlier than in the previous states. And they wave at total strangers like we do on Lummi Island. As the heat was becoming unbearable to this Pacific Northwest gal and it was getting late in the afternoon, I called Peter to pick me up. For some reason he reserved two nonrefundable nights at the campground in Seneca, so I might as well stretch it out. I’ll finish the route to Seneca tomorrow. Hopefully no train blockade. 

A fun day cycling except for the train and the heat. 

View from our campsite in Seneca
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,454 miles (2,340 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0