Day 30 Augusta MO to Tebbetts MO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2023

Day 30 Augusta MO to Tebbetts MO

Leaving Augusta, the trail is primarily wooded with some open stretches.  

There were areas of dried grasses just next to the trail. Herbicides?
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is Nona. Don’t blink.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Susan WelchThat’s quite…um, …small!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchKinda like those Wisconsin towns: a cross section and a bar.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Acres upon acres of rich bottom land
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spiderworts on the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sewage treatment facility. I thought everyone out here would have their own septic system.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Real Queen Anne’s Lace
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shelf fungi
Heart 1 Comment 0
Marthasville
Heart 2 Comment 0
Peers Store: all profits support the KATY Trail
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat's cool that all the profits from the Peers Store go to support the KATY Trail! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Nice trail side garden
Heart 1 Comment 0

After McKittrick, I had the trail all to myself. It was like having your own private country road through the forest. 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillI recall sections of the Katy that looked like this!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago


I was running low on water. I noticed a hand pump at the entrance to Steamboat Springs Campground. Just then, the owner drove in and asked if I needed anything. He offered to get his golf cart and give me a tour as well as water from his well. He has tent sites and 4 RV campsites. The house was built from remains of Steamboat Clara that sank in1870. The river use to run right up to where hwy 94 is in front of the property. Very nice man. I should’ve taken him up on the offer of well water. 

Very friendly owner
Heart 1 Comment 0
I love the detail on this house
Heart 1 Comment 0

By the time I got to Portland I was seriously fading and thirsty. Luckily I ran into a lovely couple from Joplin MO who offered me a cold Gatorade from the cooler in their car! Sure hit the spot!
Martha is a school nurse and Darryl used to be in the Airforce. Martha told me about the tornado in Joplin that destroyed one of their hospitals. 
A storm front was approaching so, feeling revived, I hightailed it to Tebbetts 15 miles away. 

Darryl and Martha Tate rescued me
Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat was nice of that couple to give you a cold Gatorade! A big blessing! :) :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

     

A nice glimpse of the river before the rain started.
Heart 1 Comment 0

There have been many signs warning of rough surfaces but the surface would be fine. Between Portland and Tebbetts it was another story. It looked like drunken tractor drivers had a rodeo during rainy season and left tracks that didn’t follow a straight line and then dried hard. You could see where cyclists tried to ride a straight line inside or outside of w tracks but it wasn’t possible.  Oh well , it alleviates any boredom I might be having by trying to pick a track where I won’t be riding over the washboard tread marks. 

Peter and Henry picked me up and we went out to dinner. Shrimp and grits with andouille sausage. Tasty but doesn’t compare to what Jason used to cook up at the Beach Store Cafe on Lummi Island. 

Tomorrow is laundry and planning day. Yay!

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,154 miles (1,857 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0