Southern Indiana - Southern Indiana on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

Southern Indiana

I'd earned enough time-off to take a four-week trip, and had to decide where to go. One thought was to Tri-point #23 - the corner where Tennessee, Alabama, and Georgia meet. I started figuring for that trip, then realized that I couldn't quite make it there and back in four weeks, considering my low miles-per-day average. Since I had some campsites picked out in that direction, I decided on a trip through southern Illinois to southern Indiana. I enjoyed my first late-summer touring trip in 2011 (to northern Indiana). This one should be as enjoyable, especially if I don't run into any hurricane-remnant rain.

My route planning always starts with locating places to stay each night. I finished that up for the rest of the trip. Then it's on to finding quiet roads or bike paths between the points – I mostly use Google Maps/Google Earth for that. I'll shortly get my two GPSs loaded with waypoints for the places I'll stay and the turns I'll make. I've also got Official Bicycle Maps for Illinois and DeLorme Atlas & Gazetteer pages for southern Indiana to carry along.

I'm counting on my friend George to once again loan me his BlackBerry, and on his wife Kris to keep me guided straight when I get off-route.

The plan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0