I finally have the answer - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2015

I finally have the answer

I live a dull life. So when the grocery store cashier or pharmacist asks the inevitable, "you doing anything fun this weekend?" I usually end up with one of the following answers:

"I'm grading student assignments."

"Laundry. I thought I would throw in the rugs this weekend because I think I saw them move on their own the other day."

"I am laminating union signs."

"I thought I would brush the cat, she sheds you know."

"No"

I really don't like when they ask me that. It often seems intrusive. What if I am visiting a friend in the hospital who is having complications from a colonoscopy, or worse? Would the grocery store clerk really want to know? Probably not.

But today was different. I needed a cashier's check and while I sat at the woman's desk she asked the inevitable, "you doing anything fun this weekend?"

"I'm going to Spain."

"Oh," she said, and for some reason seemed a bit flummoxed.

"I bet you didn't see that coming?"

"No, I though you were going to say you were going to the parade or something."

So, my life isn't as dull as I thought.

I still don't like that question, but at least for once I had an answer.

Tomorrow I leave for SPAIN!

Adios, Mis Amigos!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0