Arrival Madrid: What can you do? - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2015

Arrival Madrid: What can you do?

We made it though it wasn't easy, for me anyway. With, I kid you not, TWO screaming kids on the plane, one in the seat direclty behind me and one 2 rows back it wasn't a pleasent flight. And I didn't mind the kid 2 rows back so much. He was a baby had one of the loudest cries I have ever heard, but his parents were trying, but I think there was something wrong with him maybe so what can you do.

But the kid behind us was another matter. He was 3 or 4 and just a brat and his parents did nothing. So, what do you do? Say something to the flight attendents? They know about it anyway and are just trying to make it through the 10-hour flight with their sanity in tact. I doubted they would be willing to do much. Do you confront the mother and possibly cause a big brewhaha 37,000 feet above the atlantic? Clearly she didn't care or she would have done something to begin with.

The 3 women next to me had the same thoughts. The only difference is they had alcohol, tequilla to be exact. In fact I broke down and ordered a beer, something I never do on long flights. In the end we decided it wasn't worth it, though our nerves were fraid by the end of the flight.

That's really it. There is no climax to this sad tale, aside from making it in one piece which I guess in the end is all that matters?

Anyway, we are in MADRID! The bike box looks pretty scratched up so it might have been tossed around a bit but I decided to worry about that later. We have 3 days here so I have time to sort that out.

We made it to our AirBNB condo and its great. And the host picked us up at the airport and gave us a tour of the city, took us for coffee, and then offered to watch my bike while i bummed around for a bit with Donna, which was an easier solution that I had come into the game with.

Those are all the boring details I know but cut my some slack I am pooped!

More soon.

First dinner out in Madrid
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0