Days 43 and 44: More New friends - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2015

Days 43 and 44: More New friends

We had to say goodbye in Wick. Not because Leo and Steph hate me, as far as I know, but because Scot rail said there could only be 2 bikes on a train, and we are 3 people. So Leo and Steph got the early train and I would get on the early afternoon train.

So off they went, while I was left behind to wallow in self pity. But not for long because soon it was my time to leave. In fact I was a little early and took a short spin down a country lane and checked out the campground. It was really nice, btw(!), if you are ever in the area.

As I told you yesterday, I was to ride south, as far as Inverness, with Vikki and Russell. We all showed up in plenty of time and got settled in and gear loaded, and waited. About 20 minutes before the train was to leave we got booted by a tour group! That happened to Leo, Steph and I on our train to Inverness on our day off, and we were none too happy. So today it happened again, except the hassle of moving all of our stuff turned out to be worth it because the train attendant told us we could sit in first class seats for our trouble. We each got a table to ourselves. Cool! The train was never very crowded so we could stretch out the whole way.

It was also then that I discovered there seemed to be a lot more space on the train than they said. Seems like 4 bikes, at least, could have fit on our train. GRRRR.

Anyway, it was a really nice ride, especially because most of the ride retraced the way that we rode south, and some of the route that Vikki and Russell walked. It was really fun to see the areas again, and relive the memories, especially from the dry, warm, bug free confines of the train, while sipping tea from the attendant that came by every 30 minutes or so.

We said goodbye in Inverness and, after a fabulous pizza dinner near the station, I got on another train towards Edinburgh, but not QUITE to Edinburgh because in Kirkcaldy Crazy Guy Peter McLaren https://www.crazyguyonabike.com/directory/?user=mcmoonter fetched me from the station.

Peter and his family were awesome and hosted me for 2 nights. They have the most interesting house were cyclists can stay. It is all glass but in a wooded area so it is totally surrounded by trees. So cool!

The main house was on a national register and is an old estate and the gardens were beautiful. Peter's mom keeps the garden and it has won awards so people come from miles around to see it. I got a personal tour, of course :-)

Peter's uncle is a fabulous cook and I stuffed myself like a pig. It was also about that time that I remembered I had not tried Scotch whiskey yet. It was on my to do list and I never got around to it. DAOO!

Except that was not a problem because Peter produced a bottle and poured me a shot.

And I gotta tell you, and I need to be honest here, I only liked it a little, that is to say, I didn't like it much. Okay I hated it! Are you happy? Though they got a kick out of it and Peter got an extra shot so I guess it all worked out.

I really enjoyed my stay.

Tomorrow I head home. I will miss riding, and all the fun times, but I am also looking forward to heading home. If nothing else, it will be warm! :-)

Wick train station
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool mural in the Wick train station!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vikki and Russell
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peter
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peter's uncle was a great cook!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool stove too.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 1,727 miles (2,779 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0