Day 15 - ending at Morton, IL - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2103

Day 15 - ending at Morton, IL

rode on Washington Recreation Trail

Posted via email Mon Aug 5 18:05:02 2013 PDT

Kris handed me a cup of coffee shortly after I got up at 7:00am. I drank it in George and Kris' living room while looking out the sliding glass doors at another beautiful sunny day. Continued work on yesterday's report while George and Kris took Tank on a walk. When they returned, we went back to The Flame Restaurant for breakfast. The waitress knew what I wanted before I even told her, since I always get the same breakfast when I'm there: The French Combo (French toast with eggs and bacon). George and Kris each gave me some of their hash browns also. Back at home, Kris served me more coffee and a cinnamon roll made by their friend Marlene. Kris had saved the roll especially for me, after reading how I liked cinnamon rolls on the trip. Then I got yesterday's report finished and sent in.

I was concerned about getting enough pictures to make today's report interesting, since I'd be inclined to overlook stuff I see all the time. Kris came up with suggestions of places in Metamora to take pictures of - some I didn't even know about. After Kris filled my Klean Kanteen and water jug with ice and water, I said goodbye and left at 1:31pm. The first area for picture-taking was downtown: a new coffee house in a fixed-up older building, the Metamora Courthouse, and the town square. Then on to the Joseph Villiger Blacksmith House, which wasn't open. I was able to get a picture of the inside by holding the BlackBerry's camera against the window. One other place to see in town that I didn't know about before today was the home (for a while) for Adlai E. Stevenson I.

At 2:06pm I was on my way out of town, riding southwest on CR-900E. Up ahead sitting at the side of the road was a white duck or goose. If I approached slowly, maybe I could get a picture before it took off. I got the camera ready and rolled slowly closer. It stayed put for the picture - too heavy to move due to the concrete it was made of!

At 2:31pm I turned right (west) onto Tazewood Road, which runs along the Woodford/Tazewell county line. Then south on the Washington-Metamora Blacktop, which has a new wide shoulder in Tazewell County. Arrived in Washington at 2:59pm. I hadn't thought of it beforehand, but got on their bike trail when I came to it. I'd miss getting pictures of Washington's square going this way, but there'd be other interesting things to see - like railroad car wheels!

On the south side of town, I opted to ride through Candlewood Park, taking a break there at 3:32pm. I didn't need a break. I guess I was just in no hurry to have my bike trip end - and it was such a great weather day. I made my way back to the blacktop (Washington's Main Street) and headed south out of town. This road has a wide shoulder, but it seemed narrow to me now, probably because of all the very wide ones I've been on this trip. I turned left at Lakeland Road when I got to it at 4:09pm, then stopped next to a tree at the back (west end) of the cemetery there. During Morton-to-Eureka-to-Morton trips I took a few years back, I'd often stop here. Back then I'd collapse in the shade, trying to recover so I could go on. Today's stop was just to reminisce.

One and one-half miles west on Lakeland Road got me to Tennessee Road, where I turned south. Took a picture of the railroad tracks at Crandall, then of I-74 when I got there. Just as I turned around, I was surprised by a person who said, "Hi." He is a runner who'd just made it up the overpass. He runs between the Kennel Lake area (where he lives) and Morton (eight miles round trip). He asked if I was on a trip. I'm sure it didn't sound very impressive when the first thing I said was, "Yes. I live in Morton." I continued on about the trip and how this was the end. That impressed him! I passed on my journal address and we wished each other well.

At 4:43pm, I was turning right onto Jackson Street (US-150) in Morton. A straight run now to home. Arrived there at 4:52pm, being greeted by neighbors on both sides, who saw me pull in the driveway. Since I wasn't carrying keys with me, I had to ring the doorbell to get in. My wife patiently took several "I'm home" pictures for me until we got one I was happy with. Then we got caught up on each other's news.

After the bike was unpacked, I measured tire pressures. Both at 60psi. Not bad, since it was eleven days ago when I put them at 75psi. Even better: no flat tires . . . and no broken spokes!

My wife mentioned that she'd read while I was away about a trail in Southern Illinois called "Hill Trail", or something like that. I said, "Tunnel Hill Trail?" That was it. Hmmm . . . she's ready for me to go again! Guess I'd better get back to work and start accumulating more vacation time.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $0.

Day 15 - Metamora, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ United States Post Office - Metamora, IL 61548 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Candlewood Lane Bridge - Washington, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Veteran’s Memorial at Glendale Cemetery - Washington, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
+ leftovers +
Heart 0 Comment 0
CaptionCutAdd line aboveAdd line belowDelete

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 662 miles (1,065 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0