Day 13 - ending near Tiskilwa, IL - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2013

Day 13 - ending near Tiskilwa, IL

rode on Great River Trail, Hennepin Canal Parkway State Trail

Posted via email Sat Aug 3 10:34:01 2013 PDT

At 5:28am I woke up and checked the weather radar first thing. Rain was in the area, but it was dry here for now. I packed up. The tent was dry this morning, unlike yesterday morning, when it was wet but didn't matter. With rain coming, I covered the gear with plastic once the bike was loaded.

Left at 7:38am, heading back to Dawn Marie's in Hampton for breakfast. This time I had steak and eggs. It was excellent. By the time I had finished, the sun was out. Got my Klean Kanteen filled with ice water, then was on my way at 8:51am.

Today I'd be riding mostly east on the Hennepin Canal Parkway State Trail. But first I had to get to the trail. I continued going southwest on the Great River Trail to East Moline, then left the trail at 9:08am to follow GPS waypoints through Carbon Cliff and Colona. This time my planned pre-trip route worked well, I thought. At 9:54am I crossed the Rock River using IL-84, and was soon at the Hennepin Canal trailhead in Colona. I rode west on a road north of the canal to get to Lock 29 at the Rock River. Since there is a handy boat ramp there, I tried "dipping my wheels". I see where a guy could get more than his wheels wet, if not careful.

At 10:46am I was on my way, going east on the south side of the canal. Back through Colona, then under I-80 at 10:46am. A little later I passed a "Trail Closed" sign, but saw ahead two stopped bicyclists about my age. I asked about the closure. They said I could get around the washed-out area, and to not use the next tunnel, but rather cross over the road. So I continued. After I made it around the washout, I stopped for a break at 11:03am. At 12:25pm, I was taking another break - this time on a bench in the shade by an area where lily pads cover the canal. I ate a Clif Bar here in the cool west breeze before leaving.

The trail had started out asphalt, but was limestone later. Then it was limestone with weeds. It was getting warm in the sun. Clouds that could rain on me were around, but didn't move over me. At 4:21pm I passed under I-80 again, then arrived at the canal's Visitor Center at 4:30pm - half-an-hour after they close. I went over to their pavilion to rest in the shade. Took off at 4:49pm to ride a section of the trail I'd been on before years ago with my sister Linda.

I came to the junction Wyanet provides for getting over the canal into their town. I took that mile-detour from the trail, to get some supper. As I headed up King Street I passed three junior-high/high-school boys walking uptown. One of them asked how far I'd come. I gave them my best guess and also my journal address. One of them said they want to do touring some day. I asked where to eat in town, and they all exclaimed together, "Main Street BBQ". They gave me detailed directions. One of them said, "You'll see a big tooth. It's right next door." When I got to Main Street (I had to get around the railroad tracks), they were there pointing to the place (next to a dentist office). It was 6:06pm now, and looking like it might rain, but not before I got done eating, I hoped. The butterfly pork chop I had was very good. The place had completely filled up by 6:52pm, when I'd finished my second root beer.

It was raining just a little now, so I covered the front basket bag with plastic, then rode across the street to Casey's. I bought a snack bar for on-the-road eating, and a six-pack of mini chocolate donuts. It was still raining lightly when I got to the trail, so I rode west a short ways to under an overpass. I waited to see if the rain would stop soon, then put on my rain gear. The rain was the gentle type farmers love - with some distant lightning and thunder thrown in.

I took off fully-protected at 7:33pm, heading southeast on the trail toward my evening destination: Lock 11, where camping is allowed. At 8:00pm I came to one of those culvert tube tunnels that the trail passes through to get under a road, and stopped inside for a break from the rain. I took this opportunity to switch the near-dead batteries in the DeLorme PN-60 GPS with the fresh ones in the Kodak C123 camera. Now the camera is not happy. Also ate the donuts. At 8:30pm it had stopped raining for now, and I took off.

Arrived at the Lock 11 at 8:48pm - nearly dark. In fact, I had to rely on the GPS to let me know where in the vicinity the camping area is. I found a spot not under any trees, and got the tent up. Rain clouds were all around and I was thankful for this break in the rain to get the tent loaded with the gear without it getting wet.

It started raining again at 10:15pm. The sound on the tent is putting me to sleep. I guess it'll be another late start tomorrow, as I spend time then writing the report. But at least I won't have to set up the tent tomorrow evening. My friends George and Kris (and their malamute Tank) have offered to let me stay with them at their home in Metamora, Illinois, tomorrow night, since making it to Morton would be a stretch.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $16.80 plus $3 (breakfast) + $10.39 plus $2 (supper) + $2.97 (snacks) + $8 (campsite) = $43.16.

Day 13 - Hampton, IL to Tiskilwa, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking toward Iowa from the Great River Trail - Hampton, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Heritage Park - Hampton, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ shade along the canal - Henry County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Hennepin Canal Lock 25 - Henry County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ nearing the Henry/Bureau County Line +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Hennepin Canal Feeder Basin - Bureau County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Main Street BBQ (next to the big tooth) - Wyanet, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Iowa Interstate train just south of Wyanet, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ waiting out the rain under CR-1280N - Bureau County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 598 miles (962 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0