Swansea to Coles Bay: gateway to the beautiful Freycinet Peninsula... - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

October 29, 2009

Swansea to Coles Bay: gateway to the beautiful Freycinet Peninsula...

Once again the goal for today is Coles Bay. I couldn't get there yesterday as the Swanwick boatman's ferry service from Dolphin Sands was not operating. So I decided to lay up overnight at Swansea and take the much longer road route today. This will also cause me to backtrack some 27 km upon leaving Coles Bay.

Today's forecast is for fine sunny weather with a maximum of 18 C. However the morning was cloudy and cool, clearing only after midday.

My decision not to rest at Triabunna yesterday paid off. The tailwind I had enjoyed turned around today, and I set out in a gentle headwind. Leaving Swansea I crossed a verdant valley, past vineyards, paddocks full of ewes with spring lambs, and a most uncommon sight, walnut orchards.

Soon I came to the only climb of the day, Cherry Tree Hill. It was easily crested, and on the descent, I stopped briefly at a lookout with fine views over Moulting Lagoon. The headwind was gathering strength on this side of the hill, but I knew it was not far to the Coles Bay turnoff, from where I expected the wind to assist on the run to Coles Bay.

When I reached the turnoff the wind was really picking up strength. I stopped at the information booth and ate the huge roast beef and salad roll I had bought from the Swansea Bakery, then with the wind at my back, cruised on to Coles Bay. By the time I arrived in the early afternoon, the wind was very blustery and in a few places where I had to turn towards it, it almost drove me backwards.

The weather forecast for the next several days is not good, so I've opted to check in to a van at the caravan park, rather than set up camp in what may be bad weather - the wind is deterrent enough. I'm having a lay day here, and will climb to the Wineglass Bay lookout tomorrow, so I passed the afternoon doing my laundry and trying to keep out of the wind.

Edit: This morning I inadvertently put Bushman's insect repellant instead of chamois creme on the pad of my cycling shorts. I immediately realised my error and removed most of it, but some had penetrated into the pad. When I dismounted at Cherry Tree Hill I immediately felt a powerful burning sensation, but there was little I could do and had to endure the discomfort for the rest of the day. This was to far-reaching repercussions however, as the irritation developed into a saddle sore that dogged the rest of my journey.

The Swan River and Moulting Lagoon. Away in the distance the cluster of houses is Swanwick, where I would have crossed if the ferry had been operating...

What are those structures in Moulting Lagoon?


Approaching Coles Bay, the Hazards loom...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0