Surin to Siem Reap - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2018

Surin to Siem Reap

I took the bus to the border with Cambodia. The conductor scammed me a bit: As he off loaded my bicycle, he said "100". So I gave him 100 baht ($3). This made today's ride almost as expensive as yesterday's, which was much longer. Next time I'll take out my ticket and explain that the lady who sold it to me, knew very well I was taking my bicycle.

The visa on arrival was easy.

I couldn't see any buses, so I started cycling. A flat road with a wide shoulder and little traffic, so it was quite nice.

OsmAnd showed a shortcut via Ankor Chum. I took it. All 44 km of it was unpaved, so definitely slower than the main roads. But I got to see a few rural settlements.

There were no hotels in the smaller towns, so I ended in Siem Reap.

The school bell rang and there were bicycles everywhere.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I've seen these farmer's wagons also in Vietnam and Laos.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The engine can be used for other work, like milling and pumping water. These white chips were spread out everywhere, being dried.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 169 km (105 miles)
Total: 2,123 km (1,318 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0