Outskirts of Vientiane to Udon Thani - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

February 5, 2018

Outskirts of Vientiane to Udon Thani

I did a little bit of sightseeing in Vientiane. The center is quite pleasant with nice roads and orderly traffic. There are also a lot of Westerners, many on bicycles. The area to the East looks slated for industrial development. For example, it has cement roads.

As I left the center, the bearings in my rear wheel ceased up. I heard strange noises since I passed through Kasi, but didn't expect this. The nearest open bicycle shop was less than 3 km away, but it was though going: I carried all my luggage in my right hand and grabbed my seat post with my left. This way I lifted my rear wheel just high enough from the ground. I paid the 7 dollars with my card. But, because they processed the transaction as dollar and not kip, it turned out to be more expensive than cash.

Then I crossed into Thailand visa the Friendship Bridge. Fortunately no stamping fees or tolls were payable. I can stay for 30 days in Thailand.

Eggs delivered by motorcycle in Laos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sounds like a waste of beer
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just 11 km from the capitol, there are no street markings
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many motorcycle passengers sit sideways
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Wat That Phra stupa. It certainly doesn't look like pure gold.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vientiane's Arche
Heart 0 Comment 0
If Laos doesn't like it, why don't they just build something else ?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A cycleway in Nong Khai. Unfortunately it doesn't go all the way to Udon Thani.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 124 km (77 miles)
Total: 1,816 km (1,128 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0