My visit to the Cu Chi tunnels - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2018

My visit to the Cu Chi tunnels

Today I visited the Cu Chi Tunnels. They were dug by North Vietnam during the war to smuggle weapons right up to the front line on the outskirts of Saigon, which was the capital of the South. It formed part of a much larger logical network called the Ho Chi Minh Trail.

At least that is how I understand it, because it's not explained at the site.

The site does a good job of letting visitors experience how things used to be: I crawled through 60 m of tunnels. I ate cassava with peanut crumbs. I was even made to watch a film portrays America as a country which prefers violence i.e. a propaganda film.

Only after I returned home, did I figure out that there is a second site and I only visited the Ben Dinh Tunnels. I'm kind of glad, because the second site was 12 km further and seems like even more of a history lesson.

Me during my visit to the Saigon Sky Deck last week.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A girl coming out of a hole. I was able to fit in the same hole.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our guide explaining that ventilation holes were concealed as termite mounds
Heart 0 Comment 0
Puppets showing how explosives were extracted from unexploded bombs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tourists were firing rifles at the firing range. The noise of gunshots added realism to the site.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 5,026 km (3,121 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0