Katie to Kampong Cham - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

February 24, 2018

Katie to Kampong Cham

Mekong Confetti

The music started at 5:10 am. I tried to sleep again, but deep down I knew it was the best time to be riding. I followed the Mekong on it's left bank. It was good tar road. And at Chhlong most of the trucks and buses turned South. Only slower traffic remained, which was nice.

When I got near Stung Trong, I saw lots of traffic coming from the ferry. So I there would be little delay and crossed to the right bank. Again it was a nicely tarred road with little traffic.

If you cycle through a more rural area in Indochina, the children are always very friendly. They shout "Hello", (or "Sabaidee" in the case of Laos) even if they are 50 meters from the road. I try to make eye contact and answer, even though the same thing happened hundreds of times earlier in the day and thousands of times on my journey so far. Well there were a few kms today when I was riding behind a truck carrying hay. So little pieces of hay would rain down while I was greeting all the children.

In Kampong Cham, I met a Spanish cyclist touring with a bicycle he bought in Phnom Penh. His only luggage is a small backpack.

Monks receiving food from local women. Then they bless?? the women.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A mosque on stilts.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This marriage tent takes up half the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The truck with hay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Construction of a new bridge has started. It will replace the ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 125 km (78 miles)
Total: 2,990 km (1,857 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0