Gunnison-Lake City, CO: Legs of Steel! - Colorado Independence - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2014

Gunnison-Lake City, CO: Legs of Steel!

We agreed our internal alarm clocks seem to be set for 5 AM, we'd see what time we got on the road. I was up several times in the night, feeling nervous about the day. I knew there would be plenty of climbing. I kept telling myself not to be nervous, after two weeks of climbing in Colorado - my legs could handle this. I guess it's a personality thing that I worry so. But it gets old. After I had breakfast my stomach was so nervous I almost threw up. That was pretty bad. I knew I just had to get on the road and all would be good. Fresh air and pavement under my tires is the remedy for my nervousness.

I was on the road by 6:15. Oren pulled out with me. We rode together for the first 9 miles to the turn for Lake City. There were potties at many locations along Blue Mesa Reservoir - shoot, why aren't some of those spaced out along the road? I made use of the very last potty at the turn. We had another mile or so of flat along the lake and then the road turned left and up.

Oren asked me if I wasn't cold, with just my thin long sleeve shirt on. He had two shirts and a jacket and long fingered heavy gloves. I pointed out the obvious - I have much more body insulation that he has.

Today would be a climbing day for us. We were headed back up in the mountains. Climbing ALL day. Just two down hills for respite. I was again carrying six water bottles as there were no services along the way. So far I've never used all of the water and have joked about pouring it out at the top. But I've kept carrying it just in case.

So far the climb was nice, middle chain ring. Blue skies, no wind. Ah. What was there to be nervous about? I hadn't gone far at all before Ken caught up. Another mile or two, here came Jacinto in the truck. He was going to do both climbs, go down to the bottom, then turn around and come back. I got a refill of ice. Yes! I was wishing I had left my rain jacket and extra water on the truck, I wouldn't have had to carry it for the 15 miles. Oh, well.

This climb was called Nine Mile Hill because the climb is 9 miles. The top was 9,100 feet - which should qualify as a pass. But it isn't one. It's very fun going the other direction, hence my concern about the climb. So far so good. It ended up being a middle chain ring climb almost the entire way. Whew. There I was, worrying for nothing. My legs were feeling very strong. Whew again. I did get a chuckle. We always had a rest stop at the top at a ranch gate. Only 15-20 feet past that ranch gate was a pull out with information signs. I had never, ever noticed that going the opposite direction. The laugh is on me.

The downhills are never long enough. I finished the first down and started the second big climb. It was steeper, with occasional granny gear spots. Still, very nice and much easier than I expected. I was familiar with the terrain and knew where the top was before I got there. I could see tire tracks where the guys had leaned their bikes against a big pine tree and left again. I could be a detective!

Still feeling good. Temperatures weren't too hot. I mixed up a half bottle of Spiz, having downed two already. Spiz is my favorite on the bike drink, but it goes bad right away when it's hot and I was out of ice. I thought I could drink the half before it went bad. I had the last couple of bites of my apple w/peanut butter and couple of cherries.

I wondered how easy the rest of the day would be. My map showed a gradual 800 foot climb to town. I knew there would be lots of little ups and downs. I was hoping my legs would continue to feel strong. I could really tell I've been putting in the big miles the past two weeks. I'm reasonably sure that had we just started a tour with this day, I wouldn't be this happy.

Little ups, little downs, gradually gaining the elevation I needed. I was hungry and on the edge of bonking. I wasn't going to make it to town without eating. I gulped down part of a Gatorade (those taste ok warm) and a Picky Bar. OK - back on the bike for the last two miles. Ugh, uphill right before town. Our lodging was on this side, the very nice North Face Lodge, highly recommended. We were welcomed with a cooler of free beer and soft drinks. Wine was also available. What's not to like? Hmmm, how about not having a room? How could I not have a room? Here's my reservation dated October 2nd. We never did figure out how my reservation was canceled, but they did have an empty and gave it to us for the same price. All of the rooms are individually decorated and named and are priced accordingly. Bill was very taken with his Cowhand room. We had the Aspen room. Oren and Ken were in the Bicycle room. The owners used to own a recumbent bike store in Houston. Can you imagine that? They had an old Bike E out on the deck.

Jacinto showed up just as the room was ready. He bicycled 40 miles and 4,700 feet of climbing. He ended up with more climbing than we did. I accused him of cherry picking the good parts of the riding. Jacinto laughed and agreed. He went to the market and by the yummy bakery and bought a calzone for a snack.

We showered. I took a nap while Jacinto watched the World Cup. Costa Rica lost to Netherlands. We ended up eating at the Packer Saloon. All of the eateries in town were crazy busy. We discussed the route tomorrow. I announced I had given myself mental permission to walk the very, very steep grade and if I made it to the top by noon I would be happy. They all thought I was exaggerating, but I'm not.

There was a pretty good rain this afternoon. We are in monsoon territory and season. The forecast for tomorrow looks excellent. We had a nice little tailwind today. Which I'm sure helped me enjoy the day. For as much as I was dreading this ride, it turned into the best of the trip so far. I really liked the view, coming from the sagebrush to the mountains with aspen and pine trees. It was a special sight.

The internet connection here is terrible. I have to go down to the office to connect. I did get the photos to load sitting in the office.

The aspen trees are mostly dead on the lower levels. It's happening more and more in Colorado.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from the top of Nine Mile Hill. It was worth the climb. The nice tailwind helped.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old cabin and outhouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is this the original dugout home before the house was built?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto passed me as he was climbing and I was on the downhill of the second climb. We were both having a good day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 318 miles (512 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0