Gunnison, CO: Rest day! - Colorado Independence - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2014

Gunnison, CO: Rest day!

Yahoo! Well deserved. We've been working hard.

It was extra nice to wake up this morning and not have to get up at 5 AM. I actually went back to sleep until 7. The motel breakfast was only donuts and coffee. We went to the Miner's for omelets. They were busy and service was slow. Food was good and we have the entire day to squander.

Now I'm sitting here on the computer. I've done something right, since the guys are off doing laundry. :)

Bill's photo of the balloon fest across the street from our motel. We have a good layover spot for Independence Day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More balloons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've given up eating wheat/bread. My replacement for the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, which was my previous touring mainstay. An apple filled with PB and covered with raisins seems to cover the same nutritional needs. I offered to make one for Oren, but he was aghast. Apparently the visual isn't too appealing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Laundry was delivered back to my room, neatly folded. Such service!

Jacinto and I walked to the sporting goods store and bought him a duffle bag so he is no longer the bag man with many plastic bags of items.

We had yesterday's leftovers for lunch and watched the Brazil-Chili World Cup game. Jacinto walked to WalMart and I took a nap. I barely woke up in time for dinner.

It was a relaxing day off. We have two difficult climbing days ahead of us. It's a good thing our legs are fresh.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0