Sea level to mountaintop - 80+1 - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2023

Sea level to mountaintop

Colonial creek campground to 5000 feet then Winthrop

journal log.

6/6/23 8:15am 50°F colonial creek campground 

9:30 62°F, 9.0 miles, banana and waterfall break after enjoying some downhill.

12:00. 71°F 24 miles done.

27.1 miles at Rainy Pass

Completed ~31 miles when batteries ran out, a few miles short of Washington Pass.

Now in Winthrop for the night at AbbyCreek Inn. Affordable, nice people. Hot tub, pool breakfast included.

Tomorrow Loup Loup pass, into Okanogan!

Sea level
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
5000 feet, and out of gas- me and the eBike.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Paul ShermanNice to see you sporting the colors. What level of assist were you using?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 294 miles (473 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Anne SchreivoglSo proud! I watched as Al pedaled five hours almost nonstop up a steep grade with fully-loaded panniers. The batteries are recharging now (his and the ebike’s) and tomorrow is a new day, a new pass.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Mike AylingBatteries plural _ do you have an internal battery in the downtube as well as the one on the seat tube?
As you get fitter you should be able to extend your range.
Mike- also 80yo and a recent convert to e-assist.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alfred CurrierTo Mike AylingYes Mike, one internal + one on seat tube. I thought I was in shape but, I guess not. …hopefully you’re right about getting fitter.🤗
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Mike AylingAl, there is a free app that you can get for your phone called RideWithGPS. This will give a track of your ride each day and also an altitude profile. You can also use it for ride planning but you may need the paid version for that.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Paul ShermanAmazing accomplishment. You’re on your way, my friend. Any new aches and pains let me know.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alfred CurrierTo Mike AylingI’m using that app Mike but, it’s not very user friendly for this tired ole mind BUT, I am getting better at it. Thanks. Al
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alfred CurrierTo Paul ShermanWell Paul, I do have issue and it’s not my butt, my legs, my lungs, or my wrists. It’s this damn degenerative upper back of mine. At this point, drugs is probably the only answer. Thanks, Al
Reply to this comment
11 months ago