Crossing the Line - 80+1 - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

Crossing the Line

Newport, WA to Sandpoint, ID

June 13, 2023

With no fanfare I noticed the Idaho State sign out of the corner of my eye.  ………finally, I made it across Washington State, not all by bike but, enough that I can claim it mine. I think I can say this is the end of the Cascades and the beginning of the Rockies. 

CRACK!!

Thunder then pouring rain - buckets, cats, dogs, you name it.

Although on a bike trail at the time, I was close to an intersection and saw a tire shop nearby. I darted for cover and the tire shop workers invited me in, bike and all. 20 minutes later, I went out into the sunshine, finishing up my ride.

Tomorrow is a day off to explore and enjoy Sandpoint. Big decisions to make…stay with the northern tier route, more remote and hilly, or go towards Missoula and directly east. Advantages/disadvantages to each.

Since I need to charge nightly, that is a factor.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Paul ShermanI read you need to increase your miles. That will be challenging in the mountains but I bet you’re getting stronger already. We started watching a show on Netflix called Tour de France unchained. It is fantastic entertainment, and will inspire you.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alfred CurrierI’ll check it out. What I need is a good sound track!🚴
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 77 miles (124 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
JB SmithNice job Al! Washington, check! Onward through Montana.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alfred CurrierUp to this point I’ve been just cruising and I need to put some miles on.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago