Caceres: a photo album - Vuelta a Iberia - CycleBlaze

October 19, 2019

Caceres: a photo album

Did William Makepeace Thackeray ever visit Caceres?  I’ve never read anything by this lesser known British Victorian novelist, but that possibility came to me in a dream last night, with some certainty.  I was confident there were two of his novels set here, and I’d associate one of them with our daytime visit and one with the evening one.

I’ve no idea where this idea came from - maybe I saw a Thackeray novel in a bookstore window here?  In any case, I woke up determined to sleuth it out.  I can report that after an intense five minutes of research, I don’t see any indication that any of his books was staged here, or that he even set foot in Spain.

So don’t pick up a Thackeray novel hoping to learn more about Caceres.  Instead, here are some pictures to carry you over until you make it here yourself.

While you’re looking at them, to get in the mood you might listen to this recording of Glenn Miller’s classic String of Pearls, which my friend Frank informs me features soloist Ernie Caceres on alto sax.

Caceres by day

There is so much to see here in the walled old city - you could spend days wandering its alleys and staring at its monuments and keep turning up new sights to marvel at.  It’s been a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site  since 1986.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Caceres by night

As fine as Caceres is during the day, it’s even better by night.  If I could only pass through once, I’d make it after sundown.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Jen RahnThe shadow looks like one of those Easter Island statues.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnOr Donald Trump!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jen RahnOK now I'm going to have nightmares. That is not someone I want to see lurking in the shadows.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0