There is a plan, isn't there? - A treadling Hyohakusha - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2017

There is a plan, isn't there?

Flying into Brisbane

The original plan was to fly to Sydney and then cycle in a westerly direction. But I had my misgivings because it's now approaching winter and as I said, I'm not a fan of riding all day into the cold and wet.

Stage I
From Brisbane to Alice Springs
24/05/2017

So now the plan is to fly into Brisbane, spend a few days there checking out the sites and then either cycle out or catch the local commmuter train out of town. But still heading west.

Ice machines will be far and few between once I leave Brisbane. I'll settle for water at reasonable intervals, but know even that will be difficult. Really looking forward to riding with 20+ kilos of water on board...
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'll head inland towards Longreach/Winton/Boulia and then take the Plenty Highway to Alice Springs. Australian humour-there ain't nuthin' much on the Plenty Highway. It's a plan of sorts and I'm free to modify it at any point as any true Hyohakusha would.

Plane leaves tonight.

Stage II:
From Alice to Kalgoorlie
27/07/2017 to 02/10/2017

I'll add another map of the route from Alice Springs to Kalgoorlie once I get back to Perth and a laptop computer and a mouse driven screen. There is no way it can be done from this tablet, sorry folks.

Stage II will go from Alice Springs to Kalgoorlie, via the Great Central Road. It's a well travelled road that many crazyguys and gals have ridden and written about in their journals here on Crazyguyonabike. It would be nice to meet up with other cyclists for this stretch, but I don't think I'll find anyone else out there riding a bike.

Stage III
From Kalgoorlie to Perth

Then, weather permitting, I'll go down to Norseman and cut across the dirt road to Hyden. I've done that run before and it is by far the best route for getting from Norseman to Perth. As long as it doesn't rain... If it rains then the road turns to gumbo and is very quickly closed by the local shires. From Hyden, it's wind down the back roads to Northam, then along the rail trail into Perth. If it rains and the dirt roads close (very likely scenario for spring in southern WA) then I'll have to figure out alternatives.

Esy Pezy...

That's the plan.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0