Equipment - To Hull and Back - CycleBlaze

Equipment

I didn't need to do much preparation or to obtain too much equipment: my Terra Nova tent which has proven itself reliable last year would be fine, and my long-suffering down sleeping bag and Thermarest should do the job even in potentially chilly conditions.

I did end up giving away my cookset at the end of the last tour - so I needed to replace that. I couldn't really find anything of exactly the right type on ebay, so ended up going with a rather generic (if cheap and light) aluminium set. Despite many reviews saying it was too small, it turned out to be massive compared to my last set. Ah well, I could jam coffee sachets into the remaining space. It also has a proper kettle, which considering that 90% of my stove use is hot drinks, feels like a good investment.

As well as buying more solid hexifuel for my "disposable" stove (re-used again after Austria), on a whim I spent £5 on a compass watch on ebay - which is exactly what it sounds like (i.e. extremely dorky).

Some new acquisitions for the trip. A new aluminium cookset, which is pretty basic (and maybe a bit too big, if very light); and the dorkiest thing I've ever owned, a compass-watch. What's the time? North-by-northwest.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesI am in love with that compass. So dorky it's adorable. Well done.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jon AylingTo Kathleen Jones😀 It's pretty spectacular. To my surprise it actually works pretty well, too - even riding along and not holding it totally flat!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Incredibly, I found all this would go into the two back panniers alone. When they were rolled up, I don't think anybody would guess I had enough stuff in there to camp overnight - which would make me all the stealthier.

I could actually fit *everything* into the two back panniers. That's tent and footprint; sleeping matt, bag, liner and pillow; stove, cookset & fuel; basic tools; clothes & waterproof; and food.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Deleted AccountWhat model Surly is that Jon? Love the watch 😁
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jon AylingTo Deleted AccountIt is particularly stylish 😁 That's a Disc Trucker, rather battered and now losing its decals. It's served me well for 5 years now - I got the frame and then built it up piecemeal, so it's a bit of a Frankenstein's monster to be honest. I do get on well with the discs though (particularly on surfaces like in the photo!).
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0