Day 15: Rest day activities - I'm your Huckleberry - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2016

Day 15: Rest day activities

Rest day activities:

1. Lay in bed

2. Nap

3. Drink coffee and eat

4. Watch the Tour de France, sometimes more than once

5. Nap

6. Laundry

7. Nap

All this activity was so exhausting I decided I needed another rest day. In fact, I didnt even leave the hotel on day one.

But day 2 was a little better and I was able to accomplish some important things, like finding a bike shop, for one. The little grayish organisms in the bottom of one of my water bottles were building a condominium. It is time for a new water bottle

Also, between rain storms, I walked around the river front of Dubuque and toured the Mississippi River museum. The museum was excellent and well worth the time. It had exibitits on Mississippi river wildlife and ecology, river boats, human history on the river and other fun things like snakes.

Tomorrow I cross the river to Illinois. Its supposed to be hot. I better get an early start.

See, this is what I'm talking about!
During one downpour I found two leaks in the hotel. I told the good people at Holiday Inn about the one in the lobby near the computer station, and put a bucket under it to help them out, but I kept the leak in my top floor hotel room to myself. It was an exceptionally quiet room and I didnt want them to move me, besides it was just a little leak. I think a new roof is in their immediate future however.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside the Mississippi River museum in Dubuque
Heart 0 Comment 0
Holy crap! I think this snake is learning how the lock works!?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Huckleberry Finn's cave
Heart 1 Comment 0
It really was not as scary as It looks
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was really cool. It is an original birch bark canoe built around the 1900's
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cool river boat
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 1,031 miles (1,659 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0