What the club brought - 海口→海口 Around the Island - CycleBlaze

What the club brought

*Two extended cab four-wheel drive pick-up trucks

         Our support vehicles. One of the trucks definitely belongs to the bike shop (the bike racks on the roof are a dead giveaway). I don't specifically remember seeing the other before (though the only real difference between the two was the lack of bike racks on the roof).

*Photographer and 250cc Honda Motorcycle

         Not exactly a support vehicle though on offroad trips that the truck can't handle he has been the support vehicle. For this trip the driver generally wasn't in the business of carrying and handing out drinks and snacks (though he did on occasion) nor of giving directions (though he did on occasion).

Every organized group ride should have its own professional photographer tagging along. :)
Heart 0 Comment 0

*Nurse and Really Big First Aid Kit

         She's someone's wife. I'm not sure whose. Not a bicyclist but she not only tolerates her husband's hobby, she goes out with us and spends her whole time in the back of the support vehicle. On day three she actually spent 12km on a bicycle. This was the first time I'd seen her on a bike.

The nurse posing with her husband's bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0

*The Boss

         I don't know her name. Everyone calls her "boss," or "lady boss" though I've recently started calling her "Mom" due to her persistent worrying at me about things like sitting on the cold ground, not wearing enough clothing, and getting enough to eat at mealtimes. Things she doesn't do for the people who aren't the same age as her child.

         It's hard to be a poor bicyclist if you spend time around the sort of people who have taken over her bike shop and made it theirs. However, she's not the sort of person who uses the phrases "10 hours on a bike" and "fun" in the same sentence unless referring to us.

*Mechanic and Really Big Toolbox

         Ah Jian claims he can ride a bike pretty well, but I've never seen him do it. Not even for testing a bike out in front of the bike shop to see if something was done right. Likes thumpy music and is a lot of fun to drive with.

*The Bike Shop Manager

         Ah Zhi would rather be riding but on large trips tends to end up in a position of responsibility (possibly because he organized them) due to his ability to drive and his ability to fix things. But he'd much rather be riding. Isn't there anyone who can drive who will please swap with him for a while? Please. The truck is boring. Please.

I want to ride my bicycle! I want to ride my bike! I want to ride my bicycle. I want to ride it where I like!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0