Cucumbers - 海口→海口 Around the Island - CycleBlaze

February 2, 2006

Cucumbers

         Given the things that I will eat it is pretty amazing the things that I won't eat. Cucumbers, for example. As members of the plant kingdom go they are pretty harmless. I know of no such thing as a poisonous cucumber. They don't have thorns or spines or spikes. They don't smell bad. They look like plants rather than alien spore. There are no neon colored cucumbers.

         But, although I like durian and dragonfruit, longyan, starfruit, cactusfruit, and hot pink peaches, I don't much care for cucumbers. At a stretch I can be made to tolerate cucumbers. Thinly sliced cucumbers on toasted white bread triangles with butter and watercress are delicious. Cucumber chunks all fried up with pork slices and drenched in soy sauce is one of my favorite dishes from Sichuan. And who can say no to cold shredded cucumber liberally covered with sugar and soy sauce on a hot day?

         But a raw cucumber?

         One totally unaltered and unencumbered by any culinary skill.

         I don't think so.

         However, when I stopped at our support motorcycle on some occasion and was handed a cucumber I ate it. I more than merely ate it. I enjoyed it. And I ate a second cucumber. And when, not five minutes after I got to the town and rest place where he was pointing directions to and was handed a third cucumber I ate that too.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 415 km (258 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0