Being Swept - 海口→海口 Around the Island - CycleBlaze

February 4, 2006

Being Swept

         In Wenchang town I finally caught up with the pack for the first time since I got off the truck. Partially because they were waiting for me. Partially because they'd encountered a group of four from Nanning and the usual exchange of information, taking of photos, and conversation had to happen.

         I don't know a whole lot about bicycling culture in my home country. What little I do know comes from the internet. I started riding regularly after I came to China and I didn't start riding seriously until about a year and a half ago.

         In China the bicycling culture is very close knit. On the inside you are a member of a great big family. Even if they weren't our bike people, they were still bike people. And today was a day with a pretty relaxed schedule. There was time enough for chatter and comparing of equipment.

Xing Da-Ge and someone whose name I really ought to remember posing with two of the girls and one of the guys from the Nanning group.
Heart 0 Comment 0

         I got there just as most of the conversation was finishing up so, by the time I'd done my own talking to and exchanging of info with them I was last again. And being shadowed by a new and less patient vehicle, the bike shop boss's husband. Not far outside the city limits I got swept. Which wasn't really fair since I wasn't that far behind or anything like that, just that he wasn't very patient and didn't like the role of following the last rider. To convince me to get into the car he even told me that the others were already at the restaraunt and waiting for me.

         However, at lunch, it was pointed out (repeatedly, by a number of different people) that I'm losing my voice and that my sunburned, chapped lower lip is not merely swollen but also dripping goo so I'm officially on the truck. I'm the only person I know who can end up riding the support vehicle for an infected lip.

Today's ride: 15 km (9 miles)
Total: 750 km (466 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0