Days 16-17: Rest days - Heidi Ho - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2012

Days 16-17: Rest days

It's weird when you plan a trip for 6 months, and think about, and plan some more, and look forward to it, and get excited for it, and anticipate your destination, and then, in the blink of an eye, here it is, Geneva. It's exciting and sad all at once.

I'm happy to say, though, that I will be riding with Leo and Steph a few days longer. Originally we planned to go our own ways here, but we've gotten along so well I'm going to hang out a while, and then ride a few more days with them.

They had planned 2 rest days in Geneva. I had planned to move on. But since we are sticking together a bit more, well, I will be sticky too--I mean stick around here that is. And I'm glad of it too. It may not look like much, distance wise, but we've put in some hard days, with a lot of elevation, and we're pooped.

Rest day 1 was housekeeping day (laundry, bike maintenance, etc) and rest day two was tour Geneva day.

It's weird, but there really isn't TOO much to see in Geneva. We walked around the main square, which is really more the Rhone River running through it, and then did a little walking tour. The Indian Lunch was fabulous and so were our multiple coffee stops. But in the end, I don't think Geneva will be the highlight of the trip.

I do have some pictures, but they are in my other camera card and, if you must know the truth, I forgot them in my tent and it's too damn far to walk to get them, so I will post them later.

Instead, I will post my official border crossing picture. I mentioned that they don't post armed guards, like in the old days. So instead, Steph took my picture with my passport, while we were riding to the store (on the French side) for Groceries. It's the best I can do, so no moaning about it.

In the mean time, hold on to your hats, tomorrow we head inland!

Me, trying to sneak across the border
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A piano for anyone. This guy wasn't bad, if you want to know the truth.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The famous fountain, with the even more famous flag
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yeah, love that Indian food!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 km (6 miles)
Total: 1,092 km (678 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0