Day 11: Blah blah blah... - Heidi Ho - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2012

Day 11: Blah blah blah...

I have to say, today was not very remarkable. It wasn't that there wasn't much to see, which there wasn't, but we also took a short day. We were all tired, but I was the weakest link. It didn't help that it rained for most of the day...

Are you depressed yet? Well, don't be. We ended up stopping for coffee in a little town, and camping, for free, in the town's campground, which, according to the mayor, isn't a campground, except that it is... But I didn't have that conversation with the mayor, Leo did.

In the mean time, I thought I would mention the other drama that is going on here. Namely, "The Great Gas Hunt." You see, my stove needs gas, which wasn't that hard to find last year, and shouldn't be hard to find this year, except we can't find any at all. It's becoming a joke, if you want to know the truth, and my journals are always truthful.

One day, while Steph and Leo were setting up camp, I wandered through 6 or 7 stores in town, using my best (in French) "do you have camping gas" while I mime a camping gas canister. I don't totally understand the responses, except that it's clear they don't have what I need, or at least what I need with the correct fitting for my stove.

So we are cooking, and making coffee, with Leo and Steph's gas. Which is okay for now, but soon I'll be on my own, and wanting coffee... If I don't find gas before then, things could get ugly!

That's my update. See, it's not ALL fun and roses in France! ;-)

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 611 km (379 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0