Across Skye - Skye & The Hebrides - CycleBlaze

Across Skye

Sligcachan and Glen Varragill

There's rain pouring down in the morning so I linger in my B&B room using the owner's Wi-Fi with my little Eee PC until 10:00, when the owner informs me it's time to vacate. 

Portree
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonYes, just as I expected. Very nice. I think I was still carrying an installation then and knew even less about photography than I do now.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Not wanting to cycle in the rain, I then hang around Portree, trying to stay dry and end up washing clothes in a coin laundry in the early afternoon before eventually setting off once the sky clears. Right. 

It starts spitting before I make it out of the port, but I keep going. I've a wedding to attend. 

Portree
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

However, as I climb up a long slope, the clouds darken and before I'm at the bottom of the descent it's really throwing it down. 

Fortunately this spot is the tiny village of Sligcachan - just 15km from Portree - and there's shelter in the warm hotel-brewery-pub where I use the Wi-Fi for a bit. 

While there I telephone the bike shop back in Oban to inquire about my Hope hub. Ben isn't there now, but the actual owner is and he's unaware of the situation, so I explain. This back wheel with its cheap-ish Shimano hub seems to be OK, so it's no problem.

The hotel has no rooms available, but the manager says he does have a bunkhouse with beds for 15 quid. I take one.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0